Perfect Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by flowergyaru
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I am not a cook, in fact, I haven't baked a cake since I was a kid, but it was my boyfriend's birthday and I wanted to make him something special and stumbled across this review. I was a bit worried about the one negative review on this page, but this cake turned out to be 'the best cake i've ever had' (one of the people at our birthday party) and in fact, was the main talking point of the 40 or so people that had some of this cake. It's rich, moist, easy to cook, and the fillings and icing were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I am an amateur cook in every sense of the word, but this cake was very very easy to make and I am now the star chef of my frineds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Magnificent!!!!!! I can't BELIEVE anyone gave this cake a poor rating. They must've overcooked it or used substandard ingredients. I have made it several times now and everyone, i mean EVERYONE goes crazy!!! ADD MILK TO THE FROSTING AND IT TURNS OUT PERFECTLY, start with 1 Tablespoon and then keep the processor/mixer going and just go a drop at a time, until it's at a perfect spreading consistency. You an also add up to 1/4 cup cocoa for a more "chocolatey" frosting. truly amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2000
Oh boy! Let me catch my breath...Wow! This cake is rich, dark, chocolatey, moist, perfect consistency! We had it with whipped cream and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I just made this cake for my father-in-laws birthday and it turned out absolutely fantastic! It was very moist and "chocolaty" - everyone loved it - I will definitely hold on to this recipe to make time and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Wow! I added a really large, melted Hershey bar and a package of chocolate pudding to this recipe, baked it in a bundt pan and frosted it with buttercream vanilla icing. I made it for my husband's coworker's birthday. The next day, another coworker, who had brought a piece home to his family, offered to pay me to make him one too! It was a huge hit! This is a really good cake by itself, but I felt I wanted a little boost of moisture and chocolate. These added ingredients make it heavy, so proceed with caution, but so yummy! I also used Penzey's cocoa - beware that if your cocoa powder is a lesser quality or old, it won't be as good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
I made this cake for my mothers birthday. It was great. The whole family got to try it and everyone thought it was wonderful. The cake has a great flavor and the cream icing and chocolate just add to it. Plus it looks very impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Simply the best chocolate cake! I sometimes use hot coffee in place of the water just to kick up the flavor. Splits beautifully to fill and frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This is my favorite chocolate cake recipe of all time. I make the cake part exactly to this recipe. I have been making it for 22 years, and it is always a very big hit. On the filling my recipe calls for only 1 cup of whipped cream with 1/4 cup powdered sugar, but I always wish I had more. I think it has gotten some negative reviews because the frosting is a bit stiff for the cake (which is sticky but so worth it) and tears it. I use a softer frosting (which I think taste better on this cake) that doesn't harden until you refridgerate it, which is close to "Creamy Chocolate Frosting" SUBMITTED BY: Jeannette Mack. But a few times when I was in a hurry I used a classic chocolate buttercream like the one in this recipe and it was fine. I think once I even used a store bought frosting and no one complained. Because the cake is sticky use two spatulas one for dipping in the frosting and one for spreading to avoid getting crumbs in your frosting. Get plenty of frosting on your spreading spatula, and avoid pulling it straight off the cake. Slide the spatula off keeping it level with the cake. Spread the frosting like you would peanut butter on soft bread. This is such a wonderful cake. Don't be scared off! It is so worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
What a great recipe. I added some extra chocolate too, simply because my husband likes dark, rich chocolate. It was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States