Perfect Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Magnificent!!!!!! I can't BELIEVE anyone gave this cake a poor rating. They must've overcooked it or used substandard ingredients. I have made it several times now and everyone, i mean EVERYONE goes crazy!!! ADD MILK TO THE FROSTING AND IT TURNS OUT PERFECTLY, start with 1 Tablespoon and then keep the processor/mixer going and just go a drop at a time, until it's at a perfect spreading consistency. You an also add up to 1/4 cup cocoa for a more "chocolatey" frosting. truly amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This truly is a PERFECT chocolate cake I can confidently vouch for with a 5-star rating and review. This cake is so good, left such an impression on me, that I remember the first time I made it in September 1977 as a birthday cake! It was a showstopper and an incredible hit – and *I* was proud. With a full cup of cocoa powder you can expect a deep chocolate flavor, the boiling water only serving to make that flavor bloom! Four eggs and a full cup of butter tells you the cake will be rich, moist and flavorful (just be very careful not to overbake). I use the filling from the original recipe, which calls for just 1 cup of cream, not a pint, 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/4 cup of powdered sugar. I use it only between the layers, not on top. I also make the original frosting – melt 1 c. chocolate chips, 1/2 c. half-and-half and 3/4 c. butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Add 2-1/2 c. powdered sugar, mix well, then place saucepan over a large bowl of ice. Beat the frosting until it thickens and holds its shape. Add a little half-and-half if needed to make a desirable spreading consistency. Try garnishing the cake with chocolate curls and a few strawberries. This is an excellent, reliable, go-to recipe for a great chocolate cake that has stood the test of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This is my favorite chocolate cake recipe of all time. I make the cake part exactly to this recipe. I have been making it for 22 years, and it is always a very big hit. On the filling my recipe calls for only 1 cup of whipped cream with 1/4 cup powdered sugar, but I always wish I had more. I think it has gotten some negative reviews because the frosting is a bit stiff for the cake (which is sticky but so worth it) and tears it. I use a softer frosting (which I think taste better on this cake) that doesn't harden until you refridgerate it, which is close to "Creamy Chocolate Frosting" SUBMITTED BY: Jeannette Mack. But a few times when I was in a hurry I used a classic chocolate buttercream like the one in this recipe and it was fine. I think once I even used a store bought frosting and no one complained. Because the cake is sticky use two spatulas one for dipping in the frosting and one for spreading to avoid getting crumbs in your frosting. Get plenty of frosting on your spreading spatula, and avoid pulling it straight off the cake. Slide the spatula off keeping it level with the cake. Spread the frosting like you would peanut butter on soft bread. This is such a wonderful cake. Don't be scared off! It is so worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flowergyaru
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I am not a cook, in fact, I haven't baked a cake since I was a kid, but it was my boyfriend's birthday and I wanted to make him something special and stumbled across this review. I was a bit worried about the one negative review on this page, but this cake turned out to be 'the best cake i've ever had' (one of the people at our birthday party) and in fact, was the main talking point of the 40 or so people that had some of this cake. It's rich, moist, easy to cook, and the fillings and icing were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Wow! I added a really large, melted Hershey bar and a package of chocolate pudding to this recipe, baked it in a bundt pan and frosted it with buttercream vanilla icing. I made it for my husband's coworker's birthday. The next day, another coworker, who had brought a piece home to his family, offered to pay me to make him one too! It was a huge hit! This is a really good cake by itself, but I felt I wanted a little boost of moisture and chocolate. These added ingredients make it heavy, so proceed with caution, but so yummy! I also used Penzey's cocoa - beware that if your cocoa powder is a lesser quality or old, it won't be as good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
I have given so many recipes on this site 5 stars, but this cake disappointed me in every way. I had my doubts when I tasted the batter. I was on a low budget and wanted to make it for Valentine's day for my boyfriend but it just did not work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2000
Oh boy! Let me catch my breath...Wow! This cake is rich, dark, chocolatey, moist, perfect consistency! We had it with whipped cream and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I am an amateur cook in every sense of the word, but this cake was very very easy to make and I am now the star chef of my frineds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Simply the best chocolate cake! I sometimes use hot coffee in place of the water just to kick up the flavor. Splits beautifully to fill and frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I just made this cake for my father-in-laws birthday and it turned out absolutely fantastic! It was very moist and "chocolaty" - everyone loved it - I will definitely hold on to this recipe to make time and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States