Perfect Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Perfect flavor! Perfect cake! I always use parchment paper on the bottom of my choc cakes. I insulated the pans and they came out perfectly level and even layers. Rich flavor - I had just made a box cake that i doctored a few days before and this just blew it out of the water. I didn't use the frosting or filling. And FWIW -I made mine the week ahead and froze it. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb. B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I used this cake part for my husbands birthday cake and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misham
Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I tried this recipe a few days ago and it tirned out perfect =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Wow. Really Good. Everyone LOVED it. Buttercream recipes is really good just add milk if you need it softer. Add crushed up oreos to the whipped cream filling. Super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I've made this cake twice now. The first time it looked like a disaster but it tasted oh so good! This time around I only made two layers and it turned out much better (in looks.that was the only thing wrong with the first cake -totally my fault). I always end up putting in a bit of cream into the frosting while I'm mixing it up because otherwise I just don't see how it would work. Even with that it's still quite thick and hard to spread but it's sooo rich and chocolatey. It goes great with the cake and whipped cream! I see another reviewer said they use milk...I'll have to try that next time. Other than those two minor changes, I follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Really good and simple. I didn't do the frosting, neither the filling. Too lazy for that. It was good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
this cake was great...my family loves it...thanks you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
The frosting seems to be missing an ingredient. It turned into a hard lump... not light and fluffy at all. The cake batter tasted amazing, however the baked cake itself didn't seem to have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
My daughter has a milk allergy, so I had to replace the butter with Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks, but other than that substitution, I made the cake (NOT the frosting - I have a separate vegan frosting recipe that I have to use for her) and it was amazing. This is one of the best chocolate cakes I have ever made and served, even with the butter substitution - and it's hard to find good recipes for sweets that are completely free from milk proteins. I will make this one again and I look forward to re-rating it after making it with butter and the frosting recipe as presented, though I'm sure it won't go any lower than 5 stars. Random tip for people looking for ways to improve their cakes in general: tne thing I do for every cake I make is to cream the butter/margarine for at least 5 minutes, preferably about 8. It really does make a difference in the texture of the finished cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly. Didn't turn out at all. Very disappointed because of all the great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States