Perfect Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Excelent recipe, it's trully a perfect chocolate cake. Everybody loved it! I did only two layers instead of three and it turned out perfect, I also used a different chocolate frosting because the one on the recipe didn't taste so well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I made this recipe almost word for word, but made it 4 servings and just did one cake with a different icing. It was soooo good, the best chocolate cake! My husband - who HATES cake - liked this, so that is 5 stars easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Delicious! I followed the cake recipe exactly and it turned out perfect, but used a different chocolate frosting and omitted the whipped cream because I did not have any. I can't say anything for the frosting, but the cake is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
WHAT A WASTE! None of this turned out. I followed the instructions to a "T" and it was a disaster! The cake was crumbly - not dry, which was weird, but totally fell apart. The taste was NOT worth the effort of doing it "by scratch" rather than purchasing the mix in a box. My family couldn't even tell the difference. The icing was also a hot mess. Overall it was a giant waste of time, money, and effort. I'll stick to the box of mix and make our own frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Great cake. I did double the chocolate buttercream frosting because one batch just didn't cover it. The whipped cream and frosting are pretty sweet. I might try adding less sugar to the whip next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by r7blue1pink
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
What an incredible cake! I can't rave enough about this one! I did not have ANY trouble with it while frosting it- I used a fluffy chocolate buttercream and it went on so smoothly! I filled my cake with banana pudding and slices of banana! this one is surely a repeat signature cake! Congrats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I wanted to make a cake without milk or buttermilk, and this was perfect! I only made the cake part of the recipe, and I put them into cupcakes, and they are awesome. This is definitely getting added to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abzolut
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was a good cake. I got a lot of compliments on it. I had to give it four stars, however, as I was a little flustered while baking it -- it took 32 minutes, not the prescribed 18-22. I baked it in two 9" pans, as that seemed to be all there was batter for (and all I had), at 325 because they were dark, nonstick. They did stick to the pan a little, but nothing unsalvagable once the frosting was on. I did not use the chocolate frosting, but instead doubled the whipped cream recipe, using a few drops of peppermint extract in place of some of the vanilla extract. This gave a very subtle mint flavor to the frosting, which I used over the entire cake. I crushed 3 large candy canes and spread them over the top and finished the whole thing with large piped stars around the bottom and top edges. I got *a lot* of compliments both on the look and taste of the cake, and there was none left at the end of the evening. (I took it to a shared supper at church.) I will post a picture if I can figure out how. One other thing -- this was a tall cake. The star edging that I added bumped against the top of my cake dome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krystled
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I found this recipe on here years ago and it has been my favorite chocolate cake ever since! When I am asked to make a cake, this is the one I turn to without a doubt! I have probably made this cake over 50 times and it turns out perfect every time. People beg me for this cake and it is the only chocolate cake I will eat. This is a very moist but dense cake that is perfect for layering. I do not grease and flour my pans (as I find it typically gives a thicker/drier "crust"). I use the baking sprays that have the flour combined in them. I have NEVER had a problem with this cake sticking to the pan. I don't sift the ingredients either - just too tedious and it turns out just fine without the extra step. The timing is perfect, and I don't change a single ingredient in this cake. That said, I do not use this recipe for the icing/topping. I use my traditional chocolate buttercream icing: 1 cup shortenting, 1 cup butter, 2 tsp vanilla, 2 lbs powdered sugar, 6 Tbsp milk, 6 oz unsweetened chocolate melted - cream the butter/shortening, add the vanilla, slowly add the powdered sugar, finally add the milk and chocolate. This is the perfect icing for this cake! To decorate, I sprinkle mini chocolate chips on the icing between the layers and around the sides of the cake. My favorite way to eat this cake is cold - straight from the refrigerator. I find the icing turns kind of fudgey and it is one big pile of delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This si a great cake. We needed something without milk and this was it. We found it moist, added raspberry jam to the centre and just sauced the top to stay away from the dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States