Perfect Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is probably the best home-made true bakery tasting cake I've ever come across - not purchased from a bakery that is. I grew up in in NE Philly and desperately miss the Italian bakeries up there - I still make my mom get me a bakery cake for my birthday every year when I go up there (of which I totally take back to TN with me :,) ). I am so glad that I found this and now whenever I'm craving a bakery cake I go ahead and make this. I do usually cut it down by a third though since I always feel a three layer cake is something for only very special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ldeutsch33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Best chocolate cake recipe out there. Love pairing the chocolate buttercream frosting with the whipped cream, it made the cake less dense and filling. My new favorite cake! Plus, it looks divine! However, it makes a BIG cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywood21691

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Great cake. I made two 9" square pans and baked for ten min longer and it turned out perfectly. The buttercream icing was too stiff, but otherwise this cake was easy to make and loved by the family. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This is my favorite chocolate cake recipe so far. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Overall simple to make, but this cake was somewhat dry. Not my favorite chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
These are good! I used half splenda and half sugar to reduce the amount of carbs so my daughter could have them! I made these into cupcakes for my birthday and frosted them with the peanut butter frosting from this site! Tastes just like a peanut butter cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This cake was fantastic! I changed nothing in the recipe and it came out just great. I would make this again. Created a lot of dishes to do, but what doesn't?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY1876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lost Nation, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Great Recipe! Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
very good!!! always lookin for a good chocolate cake recipe this is a keeper!!! moist an love the whipped cream with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Excelent recipe, it's trully a perfect chocolate cake. Everybody loved it! I did only two layers instead of three and it turned out perfect, I also used a different chocolate frosting because the one on the recipe didn't taste so well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States