Perfect Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I made this for my brothers birthday. It was nice and moist. It wasn't too sweet, but it was still really good. In one word, DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NightStars

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This was the 1st time I made anything homemade and it turned out excellent.. The directions were easy to follow. My husband and I really enjoyed this cake and it is one of the most moist cake we have ever had..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Good cake and icing, but still searching for the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leakey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I had already made my own buttercream and whipped cream filling when I came upon this recipe so I did not use those but my 5 star rating is based on the chocolate cake. I do not understand any negative ratings this recipe has gotten based on the cake, I followed the recipe exactly and the cake turned out amazing! It also got amazing reviews along the lines of best cake ever from all who tried it. I will definitely be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I only made the cake and used it to make CUPCAKES. (Full recipe yielded about 46 regular-size cupcakes.) They were SO delicious and moist and wonderfully tender... they practically melt in your mouth. I used the recipe to make cupcakes that I hollowed out and filled with chopped reeses mixed with some homemade caramel. Topped with a peanut butter buttercream, and garnished with a mini reeses. I wish I wasn't so rushed... I forgot to take a photo! This recipe is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I used just the cake recipe to make a cake for my family party. I was worried because I had never made cake from scratch before and had heard it can easily come out too dry. This cake definitely didn't have that problem! The cake was absolutely perfect! I used it to make a spaghetti and meatballs cake! The portion size was perfect, I was able to fill 3 8" cake pans and make 16 cake "meatballs" from the same batter! I covered it with white chocolate frosting "noodles" and raspberry sauce. Everyone fought over the last piece! I can't wait to try it again with your frosting and filling recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savvyash91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is the best recipe I have tried for chocolate cake. It is for chocolate lovers. I baked the cake in a 13x9x2 pan and put a chocolate buttercream frosting on top. It could easily be split into two layers but I didn't want to go to that much trouble. I will definitely make this again and again. Shon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This truly is a PERFECT chocolate cake I can confidently vouch for with a 5-star rating and review. This cake is so good, left such an impression on me, that I remember the first time I made it in September 1977 as a birthday cake! It was a showstopper and an incredible hit – and *I* was proud. With a full cup of cocoa powder you can expect a deep chocolate flavor, the boiling water only serving to make that flavor bloom! Four eggs and a full cup of butter tells you the cake will be rich, moist and flavorful (just be very careful not to overbake). I use the filling from the original recipe, which calls for just 1 cup of cream, not a pint, 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/4 cup of powdered sugar. I use it only between the layers, not on top. I also make the original frosting – melt 1 c. chocolate chips, 1/2 c. half-and-half and 3/4 c. butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Add 2-1/2 c. powdered sugar, mix well, then place saucepan over a large bowl of ice. Beat the frosting until it thickens and holds its shape. Add a little half-and-half if needed to make a desirable spreading consistency. Try garnishing the cake with chocolate curls and a few strawberries. This is an excellent, reliable, go-to recipe for a great chocolate cake that has stood the test of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is probably the best home-made true bakery tasting cake I've ever come across - not purchased from a bakery that is. I grew up in in NE Philly and desperately miss the Italian bakeries up there - I still make my mom get me a bakery cake for my birthday every year when I go up there (of which I totally take back to TN with me :,) ). I am so glad that I found this and now whenever I'm craving a bakery cake I go ahead and make this. I do usually cut it down by a third though since I always feel a three layer cake is something for only very special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ldeutsch33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Best chocolate cake recipe out there. Love pairing the chocolate buttercream frosting with the whipped cream, it made the cake less dense and filling. My new favorite cake! Plus, it looks divine! However, it makes a BIG cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywood21691

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States