Perfect Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
The cake part was good but not the best I ever had, sorry D: Also I had a really hard time with the frosting. I couldn't get the the frosting instead, just some chocolate goo with chunks of stuff in it. I added milk and that made it some what better. I wouldn't make this ahain...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Awesome! I finally found a "from scratch" chocolate cake recipe that is better than a box! I made cupcake sandwiches instead of a triple layer cake. I baked the cupcakes for about 15 minutes on 325 in a convection oven. I allowed the cupcakes to cool. Unwrapped them and cut them in half so there is a top and a bottom. Then I spread the filing on the top of the bottoms and put the top back on, frosted the top with the frosting like I normally would frost a cupcake. They are fantastic! My husband makes sandwiches out of everything so he loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Amazing! This is the best cake evr. I made it for my family and it was gone in a day. It was soooooo delicious! I ran out of eggs but it was still great with only two. This is my new favorite cake recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!i wish I could give it more than five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This is a moist, fudgy chocolate cake. Delicious! Didn't need to make any changes to the cake. I made this with a crusting buttercream frosting, which helped me to make the edges smooth using the Viva paper towel method. The theme of the night was "Christmas in Eden, so I topped my cake with trees (ice cream cones dipped in chocolate, then dipped in dyed Rice Krispy cereal) and bushes (dried grape stems dipped in chocolate, then dipped in dyed Rice Krispy cereal) and a buttercream river (brushed with blue luster dust & a bit of white sparkle decorator's gel). Oh, and I froze my cake layers (wrapped tightly in several sheets of Saran wrap and a sheet of foil). To defrost them 2 hours before the crumb coat, I unwrapped them, put them on a cooling rack and put a clean kitchen towel over them to absorb any condensation as it defrosted. I would definitely use this recipe again. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
OH My goodness...this is the best chocolate cake. It is rich and so moist. I made this for my son's birthday and he asked for a second piece. I would def recommend trying his, epically if you love chocolate. One thing I did, is I added milk to my chocolate icing though, one tablespoonful at a time. Made it so creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by cpage
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was a great cake. Added 8 oz of sour cream an it was perfect. Didn't use the frosting recipe. This is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ObsessionGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I used only the cake part of the recipe to make a "Kit Kat Cake". Turned out very nice! I only needed two round cakes so there was enough batter left for 6 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ObsessionGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I have used this recipe over and over for birthdays. It always bakes up super moist. I usually use it in the wilton cake pans for decorating. I always get asked for this recipe and it has been a stand by for my for years. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Excellent cake! Moist, not too sweet, the whole family loved it. I used applesauce instead of oil, xylitol instead of sugar and wholewheat flour instead of white
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by billyjoel4life
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Delicious cake! The frosting was the BEST chocolate frosting I ever made, and the texture was perfect.The only thing was that I had to make 2 batches of it because I wanted to cover the top of the cake too. And that whipped cream was delish. I had never made whipped cream before. The only thing was that I put it on the cake too soon and it melted. Good thing I had plenty of it! Overall it was great, and it was a hit at my dinner party. Thanks for sharing!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States