Perfect Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Chef Don
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Simply awesome cake!! Second time I made this.used a chocolate frosting and my wife's co workers were very impressed! Great stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I love this recipe! This cake is so moist. I added some toffee chips to the whipped cream layers and to the top of the cake. I also added two tablespoons of milk and a teaspoon of espresso to the frosting - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
As is, I'm not sure exactly how good it is. After reading reviews I decided to add a box of chocolate pudding and raised the extract to 1 tsp each of caramel and cherry extracts and 2 tsp of vanilla. It turned out wonderful. It was moist and rich and extremely flavorful. I won't be buying boxed ever ever again. I didn't use the frosting recipe either. Too much work lol but the actual cake is fantastic and fool-proof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by unsound
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This was the first chocolate cake from scratch that I have ever made. I have tried other peoples, most of the time they were dry or too fluffy. This cake is AMAZING and I will be using this recipe for a long long time. Didn't take much prep or cook time and ta-da! deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
So good. So easy. So eaten by all! This cake is quick and easy. Except using the three round cake pans. That is always a bigger hassle then just making a sheet cake. I would recommend making a sheet cake for family and the three tiers for company. I forgot to put down parchment paper in my pan so the layers didn't come out easily. This cake is also great because it uses standard pantry ingredients. I made my own frosting using cream cheese, sour cream and powdered sugar. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Have made this in a bundt pan (much easier) and as a 3-layer cake (really elegant looking). It needs a very large mixing bowl. It does tend to stick in my aluminum layered pans but I use a spatula to scrape out the big pieces that stick to pan and put back together - works fine. Once cool, I put layers in refrig until ready to assemble. I use mascarpone filling (doubled recipe) between layers (from Tiramisu Layer Cake recipe)and Whipped Cream Cream Cheese frosting on top; both are from Allrecipes. If using the whipped cream/cream cheese recipe for frosting, make the whipped cream first and refrigerate until needed. The cream cheese/sugar/vanilla frosting starts out grainy but if I just keep beating it, it does smooth out. This whole concoction takes time to make but tastes great - moist and "chocolatey" and the filling and frosting are really good. I always make the day before to let flavors meld. Changes I made in recipe: 1)I use a tad less flour and a tad more cocoa, 2) I use one cup of coffee as part of the cocoa/water mixture, & 3)I add a cup of Hershey mini-chips - 1/2 goes in the batter and 1/2 gets sprinkled on top of layers just before I put in oven. I "bury" them a bit. Warnings: This is a very tall layer cake - needs lots of height in refrig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This is the best cake I have ever made! The actual cake part is super moist and flavorful, and the frosting is absolutely amazing. It does take extra time and effort, but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Cake is beautiful! Used Mickey Mouse mini cake pans yum!!!!! Batter even amazing. Added some fresh raspberries as well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This cake was delicious sooo moist. A little too moist I took it out of the pans after they cooled and they cracked apart. Next time I think I'll use this as a cupcake recipe. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
A chocolate cake that actually tastes like chocolate! I love this recipe! I didn't use the frosting or the whipped topping, I simply used the cake recipe to make cupcakes and never even frosted them. No need, this cake is so rich and moist, just get yourself a glass of milk. Best ever, will use this recipe for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States