Perfect Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Magnificent!!!!!! I can't BELIEVE anyone gave this cake a poor rating. They must've overcooked it or used substandard ingredients. I have made it several times now and everyone, i mean EVERYONE goes crazy!!! ADD MILK TO THE FROSTING AND IT TURNS OUT PERFECTLY, start with 1 Tablespoon and then keep the processor/mixer going and just go a drop at a time, until it's at a perfect spreading consistency. You an also add up to 1/4 cup cocoa for a more "chocolatey" frosting. truly amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This cake was very bland and on the dry side. I was so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
a very good cake, only reason for 4 stars being, i can't remember it all that well. i made it a while back and remembered that it was good, and i should review it. nothing exceptional but it is a good chocolate cake and it does work very well for cutting and filling/frosting. i cut it in half and spread it with lemon filling. (the recipe is on this site. its by Carol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeBeCrazyGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Wow! I added a really large, melted Hershey bar and a package of chocolate pudding to this recipe, baked it in a bundt pan and frosted it with buttercream vanilla icing. I made it for my husband's coworker's birthday. The next day, another coworker, who had brought a piece home to his family, offered to pay me to make him one too! It was a huge hit! This is a really good cake by itself, but I felt I wanted a little boost of moisture and chocolate. These added ingredients make it heavy, so proceed with caution, but so yummy! I also used Penzey's cocoa - beware that if your cocoa powder is a lesser quality or old, it won't be as good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This is my favorite chocolate cake recipe of all time. I make the cake part exactly to this recipe. I have been making it for 22 years, and it is always a very big hit. On the filling my recipe calls for only 1 cup of whipped cream with 1/4 cup powdered sugar, but I always wish I had more. I think it has gotten some negative reviews because the frosting is a bit stiff for the cake (which is sticky but so worth it) and tears it. I use a softer frosting (which I think taste better on this cake) that doesn't harden until you refridgerate it, which is close to "Creamy Chocolate Frosting" SUBMITTED BY: Jeannette Mack. But a few times when I was in a hurry I used a classic chocolate buttercream like the one in this recipe and it was fine. I think once I even used a store bought frosting and no one complained. Because the cake is sticky use two spatulas one for dipping in the frosting and one for spreading to avoid getting crumbs in your frosting. Get plenty of frosting on your spreading spatula, and avoid pulling it straight off the cake. Slide the spatula off keeping it level with the cake. Spread the frosting like you would peanut butter on soft bread. This is such a wonderful cake. Don't be scared off! It is so worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
The finished cake was delicious, but the cake stuck to everything - the nonstick greased & floured pans, the nonstick cooling racks, the filling, the frosting. . . Made it very difficult to assemble and didn't turn out as pretty as I would have liked. Also, I had to add some cream to make the chocolate frosting spreadable. Tasted good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYN_G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
this cake is absolutely DELICIOUS!!! the first time i made it i used mayan coacoa that I got from a specialty spice store, which made it even better. I found it necessary to double the chocolate icing recipe and half the whipped filling recipe to get the right amount. The major problem with this cake is that it sticks to everything, the pans, the cooling racks...making it very hard to assemble. But the taste makes it worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flowergyaru
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I am not a cook, in fact, I haven't baked a cake since I was a kid, but it was my boyfriend's birthday and I wanted to make him something special and stumbled across this review. I was a bit worried about the one negative review on this page, but this cake turned out to be 'the best cake i've ever had' (one of the people at our birthday party) and in fact, was the main talking point of the 40 or so people that had some of this cake. It's rich, moist, easy to cook, and the fillings and icing were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I am an amateur cook in every sense of the word, but this cake was very very easy to make and I am now the star chef of my frineds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I just made this cake for my father-in-laws birthday and it turned out absolutely fantastic! It was very moist and "chocolaty" - everyone loved it - I will definitely hold on to this recipe to make time and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States