Perfect Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Fantastic. Made cupcakes. Easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I used 3/4 the recipe and baked it for 30 minutes in a 9X13 in. pan as a birthday cake for my sister. It was a smash hit! If you are looking for a great chocolate cake recipe, this is the one I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Made the cake as per the recipe, but only had 8" pans, so used those instead. I found there to be LOTS of the whipped cream filling, which was fairly slippery in between the layers. I stabilized it with a few bamboo skewers through all 3 layers. As per the recipe, the cocoa icing did not work. My butter was soft, but there did not seem to be enough of it to make the icing come together. I tossed in a few scoops of the leftover whipped filling & it turned out fine, but a little sparse for the whole cake. In the future I would 1/2 the whipped cream filling & double the icing. Overall taste was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I added chocolate chips to the batter, but besides that, followed the recipe and it came out perfect. It was like a brownie cake. Rich and dense in a good way. More substance than a box cake for sure. I made this cake for a friend's party and everyone there raved for days over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Kisabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
this is the best cake...it even works vegan, egg replacer and earth balance substituted. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I used the cake recipe not the icing / frosting. I baked it in a 9 x 13 pan for 36 minutes in a convection oven set to 350° which converts it down to 325°. I also used wax paper on the pan since I read that other bakers had a difficult time with the cake sticking to the pan and the wax paper worked great. The cake had a slight crust on the top which works well for frosting but the cake itself was moist and chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I use this cake recipe all the time! I use camino cocoa and it makes a huge difference. Also I add a spoonful of sour cream last to make the cake super moist. It's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Don
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Simply awesome cake!! Second time I made this.used a chocolate frosting and my wife's co workers were very impressed! Great stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I love this recipe! This cake is so moist. I added some toffee chips to the whipped cream layers and to the top of the cake. I also added two tablespoons of milk and a teaspoon of espresso to the frosting - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
As is, I'm not sure exactly how good it is. After reading reviews I decided to add a box of chocolate pudding and raised the extract to 1 tsp each of caramel and cherry extracts and 2 tsp of vanilla. It turned out wonderful. It was moist and rich and extremely flavorful. I won't be buying boxed ever ever again. I didn't use the frosting recipe either. Too much work lol but the actual cake is fantastic and fool-proof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States