Perfect Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Wow! A delicious cake! I used a different frosting however the cake its self was delicious & will be making it again really soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sathis Kumar
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
It's moist, chocolatey, and this cake was easy to handle for icing. It was an instant hit among my customers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Wish I had taken a pic, I made cupcakes with this recipe, it came out to about 3 dozen cupcakes. They were amazing, the kids loved them, they were chocolatey but not too sweet, Made them with my own cream cheese frosting and they were a hit. They are a bit sticky the next day but I kept them in the fridge overnight. I will be using this for Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Fantastic. Made cupcakes. Easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I used 3/4 the recipe and baked it for 30 minutes in a 9X13 in. pan as a birthday cake for my sister. It was a smash hit! If you are looking for a great chocolate cake recipe, this is the one I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Made the cake as per the recipe, but only had 8" pans, so used those instead. I found there to be LOTS of the whipped cream filling, which was fairly slippery in between the layers. I stabilized it with a few bamboo skewers through all 3 layers. As per the recipe, the cocoa icing did not work. My butter was soft, but there did not seem to be enough of it to make the icing come together. I tossed in a few scoops of the leftover whipped filling & it turned out fine, but a little sparse for the whole cake. In the future I would 1/2 the whipped cream filling & double the icing. Overall taste was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I added chocolate chips to the batter, but besides that, followed the recipe and it came out perfect. It was like a brownie cake. Rich and dense in a good way. More substance than a box cake for sure. I made this cake for a friend's party and everyone there raved for days over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Kisabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
this is the best cake...it even works vegan, egg replacer and earth balance substituted. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I used the cake recipe not the icing / frosting. I baked it in a 9 x 13 pan for 36 minutes in a convection oven set to 350° which converts it down to 325°. I also used wax paper on the pan since I read that other bakers had a difficult time with the cake sticking to the pan and the wax paper worked great. The cake had a slight crust on the top which works well for frosting but the cake itself was moist and chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I use this cake recipe all the time! I use camino cocoa and it makes a huge difference. Also I add a spoonful of sour cream last to make the cake super moist. It's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States