Perfect Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Absolutely amazing pie. The crust is the best I have ever made myself. I made this out of my grandparent's cherries from their cherry tree, so I suggest to ANYONE USING FRESH CHERRIES to add about a half cup to a full cup more sugar, and another 1/4 of corn starch because they are much more tart than canned cherries. My grandma (YES! grandma! as in my mothers mom...) actually asked ME for my recipe. This recipe is a beat your grandma's best recipe type of pie.. 5 stars, all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Incredibly delicious substantial crust and very tangy cherry filling. I didn't have the oven tiles, but baked on a flat pan and it cooked properly. After cooling an hour, we cut the first piece and the cherries dumped out (the filling was still pretty warm). Didn't care, but if I was doing it for company, I would make in advance and refrigerate so that wouldn't happen, hopefully. The best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Oh wow! This was a really great cherry pie that isn't too overly tart (like so many are). The only change that I made was that I had an extra Granny Smith apple left over from making apple pies so I sliced it up and added it to the cherries. It gave it that little something extra. And the crust was so good! I put it in the fridge for 1 hour then in the freezer for one hour. It was rich but a little flakey. And instead of just brushing on egg white I used an egg wash (1 part egg white and 1 part water). The crust goldened up so nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Travis Afb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
The pie crust was everything I thought it would be; flaky and tender and full of flavor. The filling I ended up with was too much to contain and it spilled over, but it sure did taste good. I'll definitely keep the crust recipe in mind for other fruit pies in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Wonderful! The pie was as promised, and the crust is really different, somewhat lighter and less crusty than usual pastry. It comes out as in the picture and is very good chilled and eaten the day after. I used canned cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this pie as instructed and it turned out beautifully. Next time I would combine my potato starch and sugar before adding the juice as I had a few lumps and had to run it through a strainer. I thought the filling was delicious and a good balance of tart/sweet, but my husband who was raised on canned cherry pie filling didn't like this as well. Since the ingredients for this recipe made the finished product cost close to $12, I probably won't make it for him again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I have only made the crust, which I think is absolutely wonderful I use it as a crostata crust, this recipe makes a good size crostata, just use your favorite fruit filling, mine is apple cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
One of the best pie crusts ever. I tried this recipe out of one of Pam Anderson's cookbooks, and this pie is phenomenal. It's a "blow-your-mother-in-law-away" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
I am no pie baker!!! But this pie was so easy and delicious!!! The easiest pie crust I ever made. The pie looked just like the picture!!!!!It is worth trying. Only one drawback...the cherries cost about $10.00!!! But still worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States