Perfect Cashew and Peanut Butter Gluten-free Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Living the gluten free life here. I substituted butter for margarine (of course), but otherwise followed the recipe. Interestingly, there is no cashew flavor while eating it, but there is a strong cashew aftertaste. Nice gluten free recipe with a perfect "cookie crumble" to it. In fact, I've substituted this mix of tapioca/corn/potato flour directly for wheat flour in other cookie recipes and they've turned out great (albeit with a slight corny flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I substituted Soy Flour for Corn flour and extra peanut butter since I didn't have cashew butter. I also added Nestle's new Swirled chocolate chips and they were fantastic! I didn't have time to roll them into balls so I just dropped them by teaspoon fulls and they came out great. I'll definately make these again and try even more variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
This is a really great recipe, my dad can't eat wheat so I'm always trying new recipes for him! I did change a few thigngs though: I omitted the cashew butter because we didn't have any, I replaced the corn flour with rice flour and the potato flour with sorghum flour. I also added about 3/4 cup of chopped walnuts and a cup of chocolate chips! They were great and chewy, you can't tell these are wheat free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
My kids are on a GFCF diet. This recipe is so easy!! Awesome cookies! I didn't have any corn flour but I used corn starch & they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
These are really yummy. My daughter is newly diagnosed with celiac and dairy sensitivity and these were a big hit with her. My son and all their friends (and, okay, me too :)) scarfed most of them down yesterday so I think I am going to make some more today! The cashew taste was very subtle - though I added chocolate chips which probably added to that. I think I may make these sometimes with all peanut butter for the nut butters and then another time with all cashew butter. I bet almond butter would be great too, and they'd be good with or without the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I have just been diagnosed myself w/glc, so needless to say..I am experimenting. I was so amazed at how these tatsted after hearing all I have from others about having to eat the way we do from baking the way we do. This was a pleasure to bake and eat. I did substitute butter instead of margarine and used 1/2 the corn flour mixture and substituted it w/ rice flour instead for the remaining half. excellent thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
These are awesome!!! I didn't tell anyone they didn't have flour in them and no one noticed. I used butter instead of margarine, and all peanut butter. They are great and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roslyn Hazen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Ok, I'm sorry to say, these were not good at all. The corn flour is way too strong in flavor and texture. I wish I had substituted with corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bizzie
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Slight modifications made this DELICIOUS! Easy and tasty. I didn't have cashew butter. I used 1c of chunky peanut butter. Reduced corn flour to 1/4c, used 1/4c corn starch to compensate. I used brown rice flour instead of potato flour. I made 2 batches: 1 with chocolate chips, one without. cooking time was closer to 12-15 minutes, that could be because I used more PB. With the chocolate chip batch I used parchment paper, and cooked them until the edges began to brown. With or without chips, they are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzie
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
These cookies are wonderful! You really cannot tell that they are wheat/gluten-free, which is quite an accomplishment, as anyone who's ever tried GF baked goods will know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States