Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by CoffeeWench
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Super tasty and flaky. I make it with 2% milk as I like using ingredients I have on hand and it tastes just as good. Love the grating the butter trick. I have learned that the less you handle this dough the better it is. I also full on dip the tops in turbinado sugar prior to baking. Soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeWench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Great recipe! Definitely recommend including the step of brushing the tops with egg white & sprinkling with sugar - added a sweetness & slight crunch that I think makes the shortcake that much better. I've never frozen and grated butter like this recipe calls for, but since I have only basic kitchen appliances/tools, I found that it sped up the process nicely. Didn't bother with the fruit suggestion, since I always do the same thing: fresh strawberries with a bit of sugar to get the juices flowing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Verdibello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I had never tried making shortcakes before. I used my Cusinart to grate the butter, so that took me a few seconds to do. I followed the recipe and they came out fantastic. Beautiful, but casual and delicious dessert. I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
UNBELIEVABLE!! I have NEVER tasted such a fantastic shortcake recipe EVER! So flaky and moist - I used real butter and whole milk as I didn't have half-and-half but turned out great. I did my own fruit recipe but if you want a fantastic shortcake, this is the one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
After reading all the wonderful reviews, I was disappointed in these. I expected them to be sweeter. They were just a regular old biscuit. The only really good part was the outside that had been dusted with sugar. My husband took a tiny bite and wouldn't even eat one. I think if it's going to be a dessert biscuit, it should be much sweeter... and more "melt in your mouth." I will look for another recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Mmm-mmm! Simple to make and absolutely delicious! I just used all frozen strawberries, and it was great. Highly recommneded!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
So quick and easy to make. My husband told me I'm not allowed to buy store bought cakes ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Grating the butter was a pain, but at least I didn't have to roll out the dough. The shortcakes were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Made it this morning for my boyfriend, without whipped cream - he loved it and asked for more. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States