Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Great recipe. I did not change a thing and they came out great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Delicious! I didn't have half and half for the shortbread, so I took a chance and used 1% milk. It was delicious! A definite keeper. Much better than those weird sponge cakes at the store and just as easy as a Bisquick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I followed the recipe with the exception of using non-hydrogenated margarine instead of butter. The shortcakes had a wonderful crunch to the outside, and a soft, moist inside. For the filling I purchased some fresh, NOT frozen, cherries. I simply cut them in half (2 cups of cherries), threw away the pits, and tossed them into a sauce pan with some mix berry 100% juice, 2 teaspoons of brown sugar, and a 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. I let the cherries simmer on the stove on low heat for 45 minutes. I'm going to save this recipe and make these shortcakes again for family over vacation. Thank you for sharing! (For a softer shortcake, place them in an air tight container and the next day, they will be super soft! You can also add a slice of bread to the container.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaRubia
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I only followed the biscuit recipie and thawed frozen strawberries and used ready whipped cream and a little icecream :) just like at my favorite resturaunt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaRubia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
*I just made the shortbread* Excellent. Easy, tender shortcake. I pressed the dough into flattened balls, besides that, I followed the directions exactly and it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATMAN72FAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenM
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Perfect shortcakes, like a biscuit. My five year old said it was his favorite cake I ever made. Will definitely become a summer staple. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Very good recipe and easy using the grated butter technique. Its more like a scone or shortbread with just enough sweetness to compliment the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I just used the shortcake recipe, not the berry recipe. It was amazing! Next time I will sift the dry ingredients...there were a few baking powder clumps. I tossed fresh strawberries with sugar and a touch of balsalmic vinagar instead of the frozen/fresh mized berries.Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
So easy and so delicious. I love the technique of grating butter, it makes a perfect biscuit. I used the leftover biscuits for breakfast the next morning, toasted with some jam or fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I just used the shortbread recipe and it was perfect. I loved the eggwhite wash with the sugar crystals. Made for a nice crunchy crust with the macerated strawberries on top. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States