Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by LaurenM
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Perfect shortcakes, like a biscuit. My five year old said it was his favorite cake I ever made. Will definitely become a summer staple. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Very good recipe and easy using the grated butter technique. Its more like a scone or shortbread with just enough sweetness to compliment the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I just used the shortcake recipe, not the berry recipe. It was amazing! Next time I will sift the dry ingredients...there were a few baking powder clumps. I tossed fresh strawberries with sugar and a touch of balsalmic vinagar instead of the frozen/fresh mized berries.Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
So easy and so delicious. I love the technique of grating butter, it makes a perfect biscuit. I used the leftover biscuits for breakfast the next morning, toasted with some jam or fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I just used the shortbread recipe and it was perfect. I loved the eggwhite wash with the sugar crystals. Made for a nice crunchy crust with the macerated strawberries on top. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Shivers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Perfect!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Excellent!!!!!! These are the best shortcakes that I have ever made, or ever had. The extra sugar on top made them crunchy. My husband loved them! We went to the Strawberry Festival in Plant City, Florida over the weekend and my husband declined a strawberry shortcake there. He said he would rather have the ones that I made instead. I also made my own strawberries recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very good. Instead of cutting the dough and making this perfect looking we just dropped the batter on the sheet and cooked it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Silver Hamlin
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I am glad I searched for a recipe rather than using my mom's shortcake recipe, after-all. (Don't tell her I said so, but this recipe is waay better than hers. haha) I only used 16 ounces of fresh strawberries and no frozen berries, and this was enough for 5 of the 6 cakes. The sixth cake was good just with cool whip on it though. (I used store-bought whip cream.) Absolutely delicious! I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Hamlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Newport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is the way my mom always made shortcake, very simple but good - and not too sweet. I didn't have the kind of butter that could be frozen so I took a chance and just used regular butter, I don't know if that made a huge difference.. Also didn't bake them they way it said, just made them like cookies and had big balls of it, the same way you'd make cookies but bigger. Used fresh berries with a little sprinkle of sugar. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States