Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
These are super simple scone-like recipe. I was scrambling to get a desert put together and this recipe was perfect. Since I was preparing last minute, I didn't have my butter frozen. No worries, just use your regular cold butter with a pastry cutter and slice your butter in about 8 slices and blend it in a bit less fine than you would for a crust, or finer pastry. I also didn't have anything but 2% milk, so I used it!! I skipped rolling or patting out my shortcakes into a rectangle, since my counter-top was full!! I just patted out right on my cooking stone, and sliced 6 ways ways, like a pizza, then moved the slices a couple of inches apart. I set my timer for 10 minutes, but kept going until about 15 minutes, using refrigerated butter, 2% milk and a cooking stone. The short-cakes came out perfect and my family raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I used the shortcake portion of the recipe and these are by far the BEST shortcakes!! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crissi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
These were great! I did use more sugar to sweeten them up a little bit and make them more shortcake-like as opposed to scone-like. I liked the idea of shredding the butter, but in the end just used a pastry cutter as it was more of a pain to shred over the bowl rather than just use the pastry blender and get it done. Loved that it has a lot of butter! Makes these very tender and flakey. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camas Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This was very simple. It was nice recipe but I'm not gonna say great. I'm not much of a shortcake lover so it could just be me but I didn't think this made the 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
After adding a little extra sugar, I find that these are as close as I could find to my momma's recipe. They are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I ended up using whipping cream instead of half and half because that's all I had. These were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
A little too dry and crumbly for my taste but will probably try again...just in case! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was so easy, I had it prepared and out of the oven cooling in 30 minutes. They taste like a cross between a sugar cookie and pie crust... Next time I will make them smaller, getting 12 instead of 6 because they are very rich and filling. I didn't have enough fresh whipping cream so I used cool-whip for my topping.. still very tasty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
OH MY GOSH! These were SO EASY, SO FAST, and SOOOOO YUMMY! :) I've never made shortbread before, but we had a ton of cheap fresh local strawberries (I only used the biscuits part of this recipe) and were craving Strawberry Shortcake. I tried grating the butter, which mostly worked and might have been a lot less messy if it hadn't been 100 degrees today... it certainly was fast. Also, I decided not to roll out the dough as mine was kind of wet- instead I roughly shaped 6 balls and dropped them on my cookie sheet. I will say the sprinkled sugar on top is a MUST! Makes all the difference! :) Anyways- I will definitely be making this again and again this summer! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Perfect shortcakes for the strawberries we had for Easter. An Easy dough to work with and the biscuits baked beautifully and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States