Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Nice scone-like biscuits, although a tad dry. These were easy to make, which is always a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very good recipe! My mom also said it was very similar to her scone recipe. Definitely add the egg white and sugar before baking. Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Carota McEwen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very good. If you like a true shortcake with a somewhat traditional, dry, biscuit-like cake, you'll go for this in a big way. The sugar crusting on the top was perfect. I pureed half the berries to make sure there was enough moisture to soak into these. If I had just sliced up the berries, it would have been a little dry for our taste. Like shauna85 said, similar to a scone - a very dry scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Easy to make! Spreading the VERY COLD = STIFF (pieces that spread easy and easily) butter flakes is the secret. I hand-tossed every tablespoon. What a lovely recipe. I used a glass as cookie cutter; didn't want a mess today. Served hubby a hot one with butter / honey and HE told me to save the recipe! During dinner he said he wants to get mexican table cream to pour on for breakfast. These are shortcakes but are very scone ......ish! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shauna85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
These were wonderful! I made blueberry shortcakes with them and my 8 year old daughter said it's her new favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Delicious! The shortcakes are also great as scones - just mix in some blueberries or currants before baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Best shortcake I've ever had, hands down. And I've been searching! I didn't bother with the fruit or cream part of this recipe because I already make my own the way I like it. Also, like other reviewers, I just used whole milk with a splash of half and half to cut the fat a little bit and they were still great. I also patted them into round biscuits (not too much handling, still) and they were the perfect size/shape for splitting and serving. I think grating the butter makes this recipe what it is...definitely needs to be a frozen or at least SUPER cold stick, though! At the end, I cut the last stub of butter into small chunks with a sharp knife...I was afraid of grating my fingers :~) Try this one; you won't be sorry you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Mmm! Light and flaky! Don't skip the egg wash and sprinkled on sugar. So good! I used whole milk in place of half-and-half, since I didn't have it. I think one of the keys is minimal handling, which forming into a rectangle and slicing accomplishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Like many other reviewers, I only used the shortcake portion of this recipe and it was fantastic! I've never had much luck making biscuits but with all the positive reviews, I had to give this one a try. I followed the directions exactly, except I used 2% milk in the dough, as that was all I had on hand. The dough seemed very wet after the addition of the egg and milk, but I went with it anyway. I turned the dough out onto my lightly floured countertop, patted it into shape and made my cuts with a flour dipped knife. Used the spatula to put them on a sprayed cookie sheet and topped with egg white and sugar. These were sooo good! I used plain old strawberries (as if there is any such thing) with a sugar syrup, whipped cream and got rave reviews from all my kids. My 10 yr old was goofing off and dropped his plate without even taking a bite, but it was so good I didn't want him to miss out on it so I broke my own rules and made him another. One note, making this into 6 biscuits makes large biscuits, you could easily make this into 8 biscuits and no one would feel shortchanged. Hmmm, there's one more left, do I dare make myself another plate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I only made the shortcakes...they are light and sweeter than mom's shortbread...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States