Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I made this for my sister and my friend. We all enjoyed the cakes very much, however, the dough could be a bit sweeter. Perhaps adding vanilla and more sugar could solve this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trent Michaels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Edinboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Made just the shortcakes last night, scaling the recipe down to 2. Very good, but a couple of suggestions, of course: First, it was not quite sweet enough. Perhaps you might add a bit more sugar. I also added a big drop of Vanilla 'cause I like it. Most important suggestion though, don't flatten them out too much like I did. Keep at least 1 1/2 thick or make them like drop biscuits. Then you get nice nooks and crannies for the egg white and sugar to collect in. FINALLY, if you are only baking them for two, scale the recipe to three because they weren't quite big enough. Flavor, with a bit more sugar, was great. Next time I'm going to add a bit of cardomom like another reviewer suggested. Sounds interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Fantastic! I made this for a girlfriend's baby shower and it was a huge success. I think the idea of freezing the butter and grating it is nothing short of genius, and the whole process was much simpler than I anticipated. Instead of thawed frozen berries I substituted fresh strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and blackberries. I added sugar to allow the berries to macerate while the biscuits were baking, and the combination of berries, biscuits and whipped cream was simply to die for! I'll be making this again (and again, and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was the perfect easiest recipe for shortcake and they tasted great! Family loved it with our fresh local blackberries that are in season here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
i dont eat strawberries, but i made this as a special treat for my mom and husband. they raved about it! thanks for makin me look good! i followed the recipe exactly, and they said the crispy top of the shortbread (coz of the egg white and sugar) was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Good recipe, but not the one I was hoping for. Very easy. I followed it exactly, except I added a teaspoon or so of pure maple syrup to the heavy cream before whipping it. I cut the sugar in half for the whipped cream as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
SO much better than my usual bisquick shortcakes! I even cheated with the butter and melted it in the microwave a little to make the mixing process faster. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
After reading several other reviews I decided to give this recipe a try. I have always made the Bisquick recipe but now I will never go back to that type of short cake again. I followed the recipe exactly, I just happen to have half and half and frozen butter on hand. The frozen butter is a little tricky to shred in the box grater as I was trying not to cut my fingers! I did the butter 2 tablespoons at a time and then mixed it in the flour mixture, that keeps the butter from lumping. They baked up BEAUTIFULLY, delicate golden brown and crispy crust. I too only used the shortcake part of the recipe. I agree with another reviewer, you could cut these in eight biscuits and not notice the difference but I am sure you will want a second helping. They are awesome and I plan on just trying the biscuit with coffee in the morning and trying them with other fruit such as peaches. If you had 6 stars I would definitely give the recipe all SIX! GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
These are awesome! The shortcakes are not sweet yet they are tastey, tender and flakey, almost like a scone. The dough is very easy to work with and they bake up with an old fashioned charmed look . I substituted 1/4 c. of whole wheat flour for regular flour and added poppyseeds. Mixing frozen and fresh strawberries helps make enough berry syrup to go round for all the shortcakes. I sliced into 8 shortcakes because slicing into 6 makes for a pretty big serving. This is now my "go-to" shortcake biscuit recipe. I'm looking forward to using other fruits for variety. THANK YOU Pam for yet another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I found these to be a nice balance between a drier biscuit shortcake and cake -- they were tender with a nice texture, buttery, and sweet. My husband doesn't care for biscuit shortcakes, but he liked these. It's an easy recipe and will probably be my standby for shortcakes from now on. Be sure to read the recipe thoroughly before you begin because it has a few twists from the usual. Pass the berries! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySJ
Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States