Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I made this as written. Very easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
These turned out beautiful, and they are so easy to prepare! I can't stand those store bought sponge things they market as shortcake. For me they were neither too dry or plain, just sweet enough and complimented the strawberries nicely with real whipped cream. Thank you for posting this recipe, I've used it time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Biscuits are too dry, too plain. If it could all be a little more delicate and flavorful, that would fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I made this for my sister and my friend. We all enjoyed the cakes very much, however, the dough could be a bit sweeter. Perhaps adding vanilla and more sugar could solve this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trent Michaels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Edinboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Made just the shortcakes last night, scaling the recipe down to 2. Very good, but a couple of suggestions, of course: First, it was not quite sweet enough. Perhaps you might add a bit more sugar. I also added a big drop of Vanilla 'cause I like it. Most important suggestion though, don't flatten them out too much like I did. Keep at least 1 1/2 thick or make them like drop biscuits. Then you get nice nooks and crannies for the egg white and sugar to collect in. FINALLY, if you are only baking them for two, scale the recipe to three because they weren't quite big enough. Flavor, with a bit more sugar, was great. Next time I'm going to add a bit of cardomom like another reviewer suggested. Sounds interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Fantastic! I made this for a girlfriend's baby shower and it was a huge success. I think the idea of freezing the butter and grating it is nothing short of genius, and the whole process was much simpler than I anticipated. Instead of thawed frozen berries I substituted fresh strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and blackberries. I added sugar to allow the berries to macerate while the biscuits were baking, and the combination of berries, biscuits and whipped cream was simply to die for! I'll be making this again (and again, and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was the perfect easiest recipe for shortcake and they tasted great! Family loved it with our fresh local blackberries that are in season here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
i dont eat strawberries, but i made this as a special treat for my mom and husband. they raved about it! thanks for makin me look good! i followed the recipe exactly, and they said the crispy top of the shortbread (coz of the egg white and sugar) was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Good recipe, but not the one I was hoping for. Very easy. I followed it exactly, except I added a teaspoon or so of pure maple syrup to the heavy cream before whipping it. I cut the sugar in half for the whipped cream as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
SO much better than my usual bisquick shortcakes! I even cheated with the butter and melted it in the microwave a little to make the mixing process faster. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States