Perfect Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
These potatoes were yummy! Here's what I did... I scrubbed three potatoes, poked holes, and microwaved them for 5 minutes to get them started and to save time in the oven. I put the olive oil in a baggie and rolled them around in it (careful, they were hot!), then rolled them in some kosher salt on a plate. I used my finger to evenly distribute the salt so it wasn't too clumpy. Then I baked the potatoes at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes - no foil, just right on the rack. I did put a cookie sheet underneath and I'm glad I did because it caught a bunch of oil & salt the dripped off. When they were done, we loaded them up with butter, sour cream, and a little pepper (my hubby also added bacon bits). They were really good! My husband even ate the skin and he never eats the skin from baked potatoes. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
891 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
I think the oven temperature needs to be a little higher or the potatoes should be much smaller. I used what I considered to be a medium potato but it was still a little firmer than I would have preferred. It was still tasty though. I found it to be easier to rub the potato with oil by placing it in a bag, pouring the oil in, and rubbing through the bag. No greasy fingers that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
538 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Love baking potatoes this way. I usually have large potatoes so I have to bake them a long time. I usually have the oven on 350 or 400 degrees depending on how much time I have for them to bake. Baking them longer (2.5 hours or so) at 300 is great, but I usual don't have that kind of time. I coat these with the oil, and then generously sprinkle crushed sea salt and then sprinkle garlic powder on them. Of course, we love garlic, so this is yummy to us. Our family then top these a variety of ways. Oh, I put these directly on the rack in the oven and have a drip pan on the next rack down to catch anything. This works well for me. These are so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
385 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I make baked potatoes like this all the time. They're a huge hit. I'd go for closer to 375 Farenheit, for about an hour, for a large baking potato, and I second the use of kosher salt. Also, for neat presentation, prick the potato in a line lengthwise across the top of the potato with a fork after it's done, and smack the two ends together. The potato will pop open along this line, revealing its fluffy-snow insides! Top with cheese, sour cream, a little butter, chives, sauteed mushrooms and onions, salsa, or whatever tickles your fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
For those who don't want to use the oven, these bake in the microwave beautifully. After scrubbing the skin clean, I pierce the potatoe, generously rub olive oil or canolla oil and sprinkle kosher salt and/or garlic powder all over the potatoes before placing them into the microwave on a paper towel. Then I cover them with a dry paper towel and on top of that I place a couple of wet paper towels. Bake on high for 10 to 20 minutes depending on size and number of potatoes. Remove top paper towels, sprinkle more salt/garlic if desired,turn potatoes over and cook another 5 to 10 minutes as needed. The skins are always delicious, tender and crispy. I often make twice-baked or stuffed potatoes this way, with a variety of ingredients in the "stuffing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
45 minutes at 400 degrees F. 60 minutes at 350 degrees F. 90 minutes at 325 degrees F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wun Fungi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Simply delicious!! Poking holes in the potatoes, adding the olive oil over the skin, and sprinkling some kosher salt on top is definitely the way I'm going to make all our baked potatoes from now on (with all our typical add-ins, not what the recipe calls for)! I always ate the skins before, but not because I thought they tasted good or anything. However, the skins are worth eating with this recipe!! I did change the temperature of the oven to anywhere between 350 to 400 degrees (depending if I'm making something else or what not) and they are always done in about 60 minutes. Definitely worth trying, as I doubt you will be disappointed!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I usually microwave my potatoes just to save time, but in truth, these are so much better. I did cheat because I used huge potatoes and microwaved for about 10 minutes then cooked in the oven. They came out perfect. Also, I used table salt, but you really need to go with a course salt like Kosher salt. Topped with Garlic Butter (also off this site) and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Great recipe for classic comfort food! I haven't done this in years, as I'm so used to doing them on the grill, or cheating and doing them in the microwave! But, my husband really wanted that "old school" way of a baked potato from the oven tonight so I thought I'd indulge him. It was soooo good - especially with all the fixen's: butter, salt, pepper, bacon bits, chives, and a little sour cream! Simply perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Easy. I love baked potatoes that you get at the restaurant but I could not get the same taste with the potatoes that I did at home, until now. I was very pleased, added butter and sour cream and I was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States