Perfect Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very yummy! Best baked potato I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Follow the initial steps; piercing is good, to allow moisture to escape, but just do it right before they go in the oven. No need to measure olive oil - just pour some in one hand, or a folded paper towel, and rub each potato. You do not want them dripping in oil. Put rock salt on a flat pan - place your pierced potatoes on top of the rock salt. I prefer lining the pan with tin foil, because after baking, it's very easy to pick the foil up and put the rock salt in a container to use the next time! Rock salt helps draw moisture out of the potato. Use your rock salt for several batches, until it has become very dark. If you really think you need extra salt, sprinkle a tiny bit over the top of each one; most people don't need the extra salt, especially if using cheese, bacon, etc., all of which have salt in them! Instead of a 300f oven, I use a hotter temp. Forget the time schedule, as that varies with the size of potato - so with LARGE baking potatoes, for example, they may warm your house up with yummy smells, at 400f, for 1 1/2 hours! Love that! To make sure they are done, use a hot pad to gently massage your largest potato. The massaging also helps release remaining moisture from the potato. If it is soft all around, it's done! Rub off any remaining rock salt from the bottom - you do not want to eat it!! - and save for next time. Yes, as some commenters have said, if you are really in a hurry, potatoes can be microwaved a few minutes prior to baking. But I recommend saving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
First attempt and it turned out great, my husband loved it!! tks a lot for a great simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I took one reviewer's advice and microwaved the potatoes 5 min before placing them in the oven. They turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
DELCIOUS! I went with a review and poked holes with. Fork then stuck it the microwave for 5 minutes. Then cooked them at 350 for about 45 minutes, they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
perfectly salted with crispy skin and tender in the inside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This was soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hincr803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
It's hard to go back to any other method once you've had baked potatoes like this. A local up-scale eatery upped the ante on these by preparing a rub containing kosher salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder and a small amt of WHITE SUGAR. Rubbed over the olive oil/ butter coating and cooked at hi-temp, this creates a caramelized, very crispy shell that is fantastic for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Loved you posted how to cook a baked potato properly. All my life I believed you had to wrap them in foil, until I visited the Potato Museum outside of Pocatello, Idaho. Foil was a decoration that restaurants added later, and will make your baker gummy inside. They suggest washing the potato well, rubbing oil or butter on the outside, and bake a med potato at 350 degrees for an hour. Test by gently squeezing the sides for give. If you're ever up that way, don't miss this awesome little museum, they have signs all over that say "FREE TATORS FOR OUTA STATERS!" and they do serve you the best baked potato you have ever experienced in your life !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I love bakers but I like to add vege's to mine and NO cheese because of the fat content of the cheese.I like to also load mine up and I do use a little sour cream with mine and I make it my full deal meal for the day.I also add small amounts of whatever meat I have on hand.Tonight I will grill some pork chops and have a baker on the side without all the goodies on it but I do use some spread instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selma, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States