Perfect Baked Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Loved it!! I made this seasoning exactly as the recipe directed but poured the oil and seasoning over my chicken and into a ziplock and let it do it's thing all day while I was at work. I love that I can whip this up with seasonings that I have in the cupboard too. **UPDATE** Just 3 days later I tried it out on pork tenderloins. 2 one pound tenderloins in a ziplock, seasoning mix as recipe calls for and probably closer to 1/2 cup veggie oil. Marinated 4 hours. Baked at 425 for 25 minutes. It made a gorgeous spicy, salty, and a little bit sweet crust on the tenderloins. Loved it even more than with the chicken. I will decrease the salt to 2 tsp and increase the cayenne to 1/2 tsp next time as I think it might be a bit on the salty side and I'd like a little more heat . Next time I'm going to try it on boneless chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was excellent. Thanks so much for a GREAT chicken recipe that DOES NOT call for a condensed cream of something soup!!! Everybody loved it. Served with cheddar mashed potatoes and canned southwestern corn. Beautiful on the plate! I didn't have dried garlic, so I put fresh minced garlic in the bottom of the pan with the oil. I can't think of any way this recipe could be improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Goulet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Wow, this reminded me of the broiled chickens that my Mom used to make when I was a kid. Delicious! Just a couple of changes: I cut the cinnamon in half. I didn't "marinate it" because I didn't have time, but I can't imagine it made much of a difference since it's basically a dry rub. I baked it at 350 convection (equals 375 in a regular oven) for exactly one hour and it was perfect. Crispy, papery skin and perfect on the inside. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
excellent with a fruit salsa! 1 cup pineapple, 1 cup mango, 1/4 cup red bell pepper, 1/4 cup green bell pepper, 1/4 cup red onion, 1 tbsp fresh squeezed lime juice, 1/8 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp of sugar. Finely diced and mixed well. The flavors are great with the jerk spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Used a little bit less cinnamon and salt per other reviews, and upped the cayenne to give it more of a kick. Good flavors. I used skinless, boneless chicken breasts (because it's what I had on hand) and if I were to make again would follow the reviews that mix the spices with oil to make a marinade and see how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I absolutely loved this receipe when it came out of the oven. I was so anxious to eat the left overs the next day and was disappointed. I will definitely make this again but only make just enough to eat that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was awesome!!! I omitted the cayenne pepper and replaced it with paprika and some seasoning salt because my kids (who ate way more than usual) cant handle anything even remotly spicy. I also just used powdered garlic. My husband was a firm believer that he didnt like jerk anything has changed his mind. This goes in the folder of things I highly recommend and will make agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Keeper! Put Chicken in ziploc bag with vegetable oil and shake. Then shake seasoning in bag, seal and shake. i let marinate for 2 hours. Took out of bag and made some more seasonings and sprinkled on top of chicken in foil lined pan. 350 convection for 1 hour 5 minutes then broiled for 2 minutes. Reduced cinnamon and increased cayenne still wasn't too spicy but spicy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Thanks for sharing this very good yet easy recipe. My family loved it. I made a couple of minor changes. I double the cayenne pepper, and I cooked the chicken in the oven for 2 about hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phenix City, Alabama, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I've made jerk chicken a few times before. This recipe is the best so far. I made it along with wild rice and green beans. It was perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States