Perfect Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I have been using this recipe for 40 years...and my mother before that. Only difference I saw was we use 1 tsp of cinnamon and don't use the lemon juice....I may try that. We dot the top of the apples with butter before placing on the top crust. Then I sprinkle sugar and cinnamon on top. For those who are home crust makers (me for 39 years) I use these Betty Crocker crusts....only take a little of my whole wheat flour, spread on a board and roll the crusts just a little thinner...and people think I still make my own. Smile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I've made this pie for more years then I can say. It's requested of me at every outting. The flavor can't be beat. On top of this, I've used the Pillsbury pie crust ever since it was put on the market. Why go to all the trouble when this is just as good as homemade. I do tweek the recipe a bit and I know you'll find wonderful results with this. I put dabbs of butter on top of the apples before layering the top crust. Once the top crust is in place and crimped, I brush the top with egg yolk. You can either sprinkle with colored sugar or leave alone. The color of your pie will be a beautiful golden color. It doesn't change the flavor, but it sure enhances the appearance. Your pie will be the most beautiful around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cream Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Great Recipe with one flaw. I used 1/4 cup of flour and it was still runny. Tasted great, easy to make, but runny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
To solve the issue of having a "running" pie, Alton Brown suggests letting the apples draini(once you add the sugar) in a collendar for one hour then proceed with your recipe using the drained apples. I did this and sure enough, no running or over liquid apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was a great classic apple pie recipe if you're in a rush. I used granny smith apples for more of a sweet tartness. I also changed the sugar combination slightly. I subbed 1/4 cup of brown sugar for 1/4 cup of the white sugar. After putting the top crust in place, I brushed a slightly beaten egg white over the top and sprinkled with 2 tsp. of sugar. Everyone LOVED this pie and I will be making it again for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbertsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I am 63 years old and have never made an apple pie without using the canned fruit pie filling. I had 4 small Granny Smith and 2 large Jonathon apples on hand that needed to be used so I made the pie with those. I followed the recipe exactly as originally posted, except I did use 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar, because I love the flavor of brown sugar. I also sprinkled some cinnamon/sugar on the top after giving it a light milk wash. This pie is fabulous and I highly recommend it to even the novice cook. I doubt I will ever make an apple pie again without using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
One of the best apple pies to this date!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I have been making this recipe for 51 years although I too dab the apples with butter before putting on the top crust.I also use more cinnamon, probably a tsp., plus nutmeg and a little allspice. My Mom made this recipe from 1933 when she married till her death in 2002. Of course we both make our own pie crusts, although the Pillsbury refrig. ones are very good and do save time. I put evaporated milk (brush it on) the crust before baking. It also makes the crust a lucious color. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This pie is awesome, I use a tsp. of Apple Pie spice, along with the other spices, I love this pie, thanks for sharing!!! For those of you that are having trouble with a runny pie. After it gets done cooking, leave it in the oven until it cools. It works for me EVERY TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I've been getting rave reviews using this recipe. I apply an egg wash to the top crust before putting it in the oven so it looks nice and golden brown. I found the egg wash on another site; I beat 1 egg yolk with 1 tablespoon of milk and apply to the top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States