Perfect Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
To solve the issue of having a "running" pie, Alton Brown suggests letting the apples draini(once you add the sugar) in a collendar for one hour then proceed with your recipe using the drained apples. I did this and sure enough, no running or over liquid apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I have been using this recipe for 40 years...and my mother before that. Only difference I saw was we use 1 tsp of cinnamon and don't use the lemon juice....I may try that. We dot the top of the apples with butter before placing on the top crust. Then I sprinkle sugar and cinnamon on top. For those who are home crust makers (me for 39 years) I use these Betty Crocker crusts....only take a little of my whole wheat flour, spread on a board and roll the crusts just a little thinner...and people think I still make my own. Smile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
For the best results dot the top of the apples with butter before putting on the top crust. Also, try using several different varities of apple, such as Golden Delicious, Gala, York etc. in the same pie. It really adds depth of flavor. Sometimes,instead on lemon juice, I throw a handful of fresh cranberries on top of the apples to give it the tartness and flavor of fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I am 63 years old and have never made an apple pie without using the canned fruit pie filling. I had 4 small Granny Smith and 2 large Jonathon apples on hand that needed to be used so I made the pie with those. I followed the recipe exactly as originally posted, except I did use 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar, because I love the flavor of brown sugar. I also sprinkled some cinnamon/sugar on the top after giving it a light milk wash. This pie is fabulous and I highly recommend it to even the novice cook. I doubt I will ever make an apple pie again without using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
being from new england, we are fussy about our apple pies. now is the season for picking and let me tell you..this is the one!! loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I've made this pie for more years then I can say. It's requested of me at every outting. The flavor can't be beat. On top of this, I've used the Pillsbury pie crust ever since it was put on the market. Why go to all the trouble when this is just as good as homemade. I do tweek the recipe a bit and I know you'll find wonderful results with this. I put dabbs of butter on top of the apples before layering the top crust. Once the top crust is in place and crimped, I brush the top with egg yolk. You can either sprinkle with colored sugar or leave alone. The color of your pie will be a beautiful golden color. It doesn't change the flavor, but it sure enhances the appearance. Your pie will be the most beautiful around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Harvey Jellison Melton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cream Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Very nice. I blind baked the base crust, coated with egg white and baked another 5 minutes. Added cranberries and walnuts to the filling. Delish. Base was nice and crunchy, not soggy as it sometimes gets with an apple pie. Will make again next week for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I just made this for my husband and he loved it. I have to say the easy crust is perfect every time and I realized that whatever fruit I have around the house can easily turn into a delicious pie using this simple crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This really is The Perfect Pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Callow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyndhurst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I've been getting rave reviews using this recipe. I apply an egg wash to the top crust before putting it in the oven so it looks nice and golden brown. I found the egg wash on another site; I beat 1 egg yolk with 1 tablespoon of milk and apply to the top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States