Perfect Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Great Recipe with one flaw. I used 1/4 cup of flour and it was still runny. Tasted great, easy to make, but runny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I have been using this recipe for 40 years...and my mother before that. Only difference I saw was we use 1 tsp of cinnamon and don't use the lemon juice....I may try that. We dot the top of the apples with butter before placing on the top crust. Then I sprinkle sugar and cinnamon on top. For those who are home crust makers (me for 39 years) I use these Betty Crocker crusts....only take a little of my whole wheat flour, spread on a board and roll the crusts just a little thinner...and people think I still make my own. Smile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I've made this pie for more years then I can say. It's requested of me at every outting. The flavor can't be beat. On top of this, I've used the Pillsbury pie crust ever since it was put on the market. Why go to all the trouble when this is just as good as homemade. I do tweek the recipe a bit and I know you'll find wonderful results with this. I put dabbs of butter on top of the apples before layering the top crust. Once the top crust is in place and crimped, I brush the top with egg yolk. You can either sprinkle with colored sugar or leave alone. The color of your pie will be a beautiful golden color. It doesn't change the flavor, but it sure enhances the appearance. Your pie will be the most beautiful around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cream Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Very nice. I blind baked the base crust, coated with egg white and baked another 5 minutes. Added cranberries and walnuts to the filling. Delish. Base was nice and crunchy, not soggy as it sometimes gets with an apple pie. Will make again next week for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I used this recipe to make my very first pie! It was so easy to use this crust and everyone loved it. I thought making a pie was going to be so much more complicated, but this crust really makes it easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was my first Apple Pie i've ever made and this recipe was perfect! It came out awesomely delicious...even had my neighbor run out and make one herself. Thanks for this simple "Perfect Apple pie" receipe it made a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
For the best results dot the top of the apples with butter before putting on the top crust. Also, try using several different varities of apple, such as Golden Delicious, Gala, York etc. in the same pie. It really adds depth of flavor. Sometimes,instead on lemon juice, I throw a handful of fresh cranberries on top of the apples to give it the tartness and flavor of fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
My first time ever making apple pie... delicious, tasted just like it was bought from the store. Kids and family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This is the first pie I have ever made and it turned out perfect my family was very impressed add some vanilla ice cream and its pure perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
being from new england, we are fussy about our apple pies. now is the season for picking and let me tell you..this is the one!! loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States