Perfect Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
We tried this one out prior to Thanksgiving. It was wonderful!! I dusted the crust with a sugar/cinn mixture prior to baking. What a nice touch. Will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
this is a great recipe for apple pie. i changed a couple things. the apples i cut thicker. as they say"i like meat with my potatoes."and i also used 2 tbs of tapioca mix, and mixed in apple mixture instead of flour,for thickener for juice. mmmmmm good i also used granny smiths, braerburn apples. best apples for baking for me. either one for apples or just one kind
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
So easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This was my 3rd attempt at home baked apple pie, and the 2nd recipe I tried it with. I like this recipe much better than the other I used. The first 2 tries were a bit of a letdown, having just tossed the raw apples & spices in the pie crust to bake. End result was a soupy mess with semi-burnt top crust and undercooked apples. By this attempt (and after reading some suggestions here) I sauteed the apples in a large skillet on the stove top before baking in the oven. This time there was no "apple soup" and the apples cooked thoroughly, tho maybe I sliced a little thin or cooked a too long on stovetop, since it was nearly applesauce. Even still, the flavor was amazing! On the stovetop I added about a tbsp of butter and used a little extra lemon juice, and very gradually added flour to the skillet over medium heat to thicken the juice. The more thoroughly you cook the apples in the skillet, the shorter bake time needed in the oven (prevents burnt crust!). I think for the next pie, I'll make sure the apples are no less than 1/4" thick, shorten the cook time on the stovetop (no more than 10-15mins) and use a slightly higher heat.. I think that should do the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
this is delicious i know you probably think packaged food isn't good but for this pie if you make the filling yourself you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Great pie! The only thing I did different was add cinnamon/sugar sprinkles to the top before baking. I also baked in a dark pan so it didn't take as long, so keep an eye on it if u don't use a glass pie pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
To us these premade pie crusts just makes for a very thick crust so the reviewer who suggested rolling them thinner has the answer. Nothing worse than a pie with a thick crust. Actually when I was taught how to make pies you were supposed to have the crust so thin you could see thru it. This is a good basic recipe but much too sweet for us and also suggest you use only granny smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I always dot with butter and amp up the spices. I never peel the apples. Use a combo of braeburn, fuji or galas with granny smiths~ but I don't peel them! You can substitute the lemon juice for sherry and sprinkle about 1 tbs of cinnamon red-hot candies! They melt and everyone wonders what that secret ingredient is that makes the filling look reddish-pink! I always get raves for these changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I have used this recipe for 40yrs. I now use pillsbury and no one knows I didnt make the crust myself. I recently started using 3 different apples, honeycrisp, johnathan & granny smith. I now get rave reviews with the combination of apples..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Genoa City, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This pie is well, easy as apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATHENAZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece

Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States