Peppy's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
These are great. I have made them twice now, and they are easy and delicious. I don't have a bread machine, so I just mixed all the ingredients together in a mixing bowl, turned the dough onto a board and kneaded it until it was a soft dough. Then I put it in a greased bowl to rise about an hour and a half. After that I followed the directions, except I don't have a wire cake rack so I baked them on a cookie sheet dusted generously with flour. That worked fine and they didn't stick to the cookie sheet. I just dusted off the extra flour when they were done. We ate them with homemade hummus, veggies and goat cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
So good, I made it twice in one week. Second time was for a family gathering and everybody kept saying it was the best pita bread they had ever tasted (I am Lebanese and my family has eaten A LOT of Pita bread). I followed the recipe directions exactly and used a bread maker to make the dough. It was actually very easy to do.....the "in between time" was a little time consuming but ABSOLUTELY worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
For SBDEVENEY who used splenda instead of sugar and the recipe still worked, I am surprised. The sugar is not in the recipe for you, the sugar is in the recipe for the yeast. Sugar feeds the yeast so that it rises. I am very anxious to try this recipe myself, but thought I would warn others who are looking for guidance and pick hers to read.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
EASY!! I have never seen such an easy recipe! I am Greek and I remember my Yaya (greek grandmother) and aunties struggling for hours making the dough for pita's, kneading the dough, letting it rise and then worrying if they would rise and be pita's or they would throw the pancake like failures away... I never wanted to make pita, ever. Then I saw this recipe - it is EASY, and I mean EASY. It is no fail - it makes perfect pitas every time and I mean every time! Everyone I have recommended this recipe to is in shock that it makes perfect pita's so easily. I love it, anyone can make this recipe. No struggling with a skillet, just pop them in the oven and BAM! perfect pitas every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blue
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Pretty straight forward directions. I followed all ingredients but instead of doing them in the oven I just heated a skillet and cooked them that way. The first one didn't puff up but I blame that on me not being very patient, all the rest came out beautifully. I also made some hummus with a recipe on here that called for no tahini and it came out delicious. I filled the pita pockets with some hummus and sliced tomato and they were to die for. I'll definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Instructions and video were so easy to follow. I did use bread flour instead of all-purpose flour and they still came out. I only cooked for 4 mins, like mine on the softer lighter side. I did cook some for 5-6 mins and it was too long because they came out too dry and they became brittle quickly. I suggest you follow the instructions to the tee. Putting in a bag and sealing them is very important because if not they wont stay soft. Family loved, loved them. I will no longer buy them at the supermarket. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
These were great! Very puffy and very tasty. Mine did not come out very big, so I think next time I will roll them a bit thinner before baking, and also maybe make fewer than 8 per batch. We will definitely make these again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
NICE! I found this recipe when I realized I was at home and didn't have bread for lunch the next day and was 30 miles from a grocery store. I googled "bread machine pita" and pow! I followed the recipe (mostly) and did add 1 1/2 cups wheat flour to make it healthier along with adding honey in place of white sugar. I tried it on the griddle like one user suggested, but mine only goes to 400 degrees. Didn't work as well. Put them in a 500 degree oven and they came out PERFECT! I love the way they taste, love the fact that they are more natural and I didn't have to get in the car and drive to get them! Thanks for posting the recipe. Never buying pitas at the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I reduced to 6 servings to accommodate the size of my bread machine. I served warm pitas with fresh home made hummus. Guests couldn't stop raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Enjoyed this as written, but made some changes to suit our tastes. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and subbed 1/4 flaxseed for the A/P flour and subbed a cup of wheat flour for the a/p flour. These were delicious toasted with hummus. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States