Peppery Shrimp and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This was a really easy recipe and very tasty. The only change I made was to put the shrimp in the sauce raw to cook as well as I used a mix of pernod and broth because I was out of sherry. It gave it a nice flavour. I did think it needed some extra salt as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made this recipe because I just happed to have all of the ingredients on hand. It wasn't terrible.. but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cln714
Home Town: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Used Paprika and Crushed Red Peppers versus Chili Sauce. Still spicy so not for those that like no spice at all...very good though. Honey calls it a Gumbo without the Roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Excellent sauce. A bit too spicy for me. I am going to cut the red pepper in half next time. Also, I minced the peppers and celery to make a smoother sauce. For an added delight, get jumbo shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was fantastic and easy to make. When I got my celery out, well let's just say it was ready for the compost pile. So I used some celery seed instead. Other than that I followed the recipe to a tee, except using fresh herbs from the garden. I did put in two pounds of extra large shrimp...we like lots of shrimp. The Sherry sauce was excellent flavor. The instructions were just right. Topped with some fresh chopped scallions. Thanks Cynthia for such a tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Good solid keeper. I cooked the veggies longer than it said (therefore I didn't cook it for an additional 20 min after adding the tomato sauce and chicken stalk) and used mushrooms in place of peppers. I'm not a pepper fan. I added asian garlic chili sauce for the vague "chili sauce". We really liked the spiciness of it. Lastly, we only cooked 2 cups of rice and it was plenty for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
My boyfriend loved this dish. He wants me to make it every night!! I used Shanghai Chilis in Oil (1 1/2 tsp) and 1/2 cup dry white wine with uncooked shrimp. Very, very tasty on a cold Canadian night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forestchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alder Flats, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
pretty good - used brown rice, sherry, and 1 tsp. sriracha chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
First time I've written a review. Great recipe mostly because it had a great kick to it. I love food with some flavor and this did the trick. I used the sherry vs. broth. My picky kids even liked it. And I didn't have all the ingrediants like celery or red pepers, but it came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This is a great dish to make after work. It is quick, easy and oh so good. I didn't have chili sauce but did have Thai chili sauce so that is what I used. I only added half of the red pepper flakes as we can't tolerate too much spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States