Peppery Onion Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was excellent..probably one of the better breads. I used milk instead of water/dry milk powder (didn't have the powder), but followed everything else to the letter, and used my bread machine. Baked up wonderfully, light brown, with a super soft interior. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I improvised a bit once I tasted the dough and made this without a bread machine. Instead of 17 tablespoons of water I used 1/4 a cup of water for the yeast and 3/4 cup of warm milk. I used 3/4 ts. of pepper and added about a 1/3 of a cup of shredded sun dried tomatoes- after shredding them in the food processor. It is a little messy but very delicious! I may try this again with red peppers and mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Good. I wasn't sure I'd be thrilled with the pepper, but I put in the amount called for anyway. I like it--it's subtle, but there, and it goes well with the onion. I used the dough cycle then baked at 375 for 45 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I'd give this one a solid 4.5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I don't have a bread machine so I just made it the old fashioned way. I thought it was so-so. Not exactly what I imagined. But not bad, a little blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Western

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petersburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Although I liked the taste, the loaf was undercooked (regular cycle on Zo). I would have to rework the recipe to get an adequate loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Nice taste & rose perfect. Served with Beef Tenderloin in a Port Shiitake Reduction from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I have made this bread several times and it was absolutely delicious! I even made it at Christmas, hollowed out the bread, and threw some Spinach Dip in. The family loved it! The bread comes out soft with just a touch of peppery flavor. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Cooked up beautifully. Very good bread. I put in a little too much pepper - next time I will use less. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States