Peppery Onion Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was excellent..probably one of the better breads. I used milk instead of water/dry milk powder (didn't have the powder), but followed everything else to the letter, and used my bread machine. Baked up wonderfully, light brown, with a super soft interior. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I improvised a bit once I tasted the dough and made this without a bread machine. Instead of 17 tablespoons of water I used 1/4 a cup of water for the yeast and 3/4 cup of warm milk. I used 3/4 ts. of pepper and added about a 1/3 of a cup of shredded sun dried tomatoes- after shredding them in the food processor. It is a little messy but very delicious! I may try this again with red peppers and mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Good. I wasn't sure I'd be thrilled with the pepper, but I put in the amount called for anyway. I like it--it's subtle, but there, and it goes well with the onion. I used the dough cycle then baked at 375 for 45 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I'd give this one a solid 4.5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I don't have a bread machine so I just made it the old fashioned way. I thought it was so-so. Not exactly what I imagined. But not bad, a little blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Western

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petersburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Although I liked the taste, the loaf was undercooked (regular cycle on Zo). I would have to rework the recipe to get an adequate loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Nice taste & rose perfect. Served with Beef Tenderloin in a Port Shiitake Reduction from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I have made this bread several times and it was absolutely delicious! I even made it at Christmas, hollowed out the bread, and threw some Spinach Dip in. The family loved it! The bread comes out soft with just a touch of peppery flavor. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Cooked up beautifully. Very good bread. I put in a little too much pepper - next time I will use less. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States