Peppery Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Small cubes (1 lb. cheddar) lemon juice and half-and-half to make 2/3 cup 4 tbs butter shorted flour by 1/4 cup proofed yeast with half the sugar 1/2 tsp each black pepper and crushed red pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
this is hard to rate, made as written -the recipe would take a long time to rise in my experience with yeast breads. The ingredients and flavour are great, I mixed the egg and sour cream together and placed in a dish of hot water to warm them to room temp. I add the salt after half the flour has been mixed in, and had to add an extra 1/2 cup or so of flour. I baked this in a high sided pie plate to make a round loaf of bread filled with cheese. The taste is great, the directions (which I rarely read and follow unless trying a recipe for recipe group) needed some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Worked out well for me, although it took longer to rise (2 hr). I forgot to add the pepper, and added in a tsp of onion and garlic powder. It took 45 min to bake in my glass loaf pan. It turned out to be a beautiful loaf of cheese bread, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I made this yesterday for RECIPE GROUP. I am not a bread baker and never have been. Somehow that has escaped me all these years. But, this looked interesting, so I thought I’d give it a go. I followed the recipe, but used seasoned pepper and increased the amount to 2 teaspoons. I made sure all my ingredients were at room temperature before I began, and once the dough had come together I did not divide it as indicated in the recipe. I put it all in an 8x4" loaf pan and it rose beautifully in 90 minutes. I baked mine for the full 40 minutes, but should have taken it out at 35, as the top of mine browned just a wee bit too much. This was fun to try and we enjoyed it. It may have even convinced me to try other yeast breads! Four stars due to the confusion about dividing the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Made for Recipe Group... I think I HAVE to give this five stars... the loaf came out of the pan at 2:31 p.m. It's now 2:47 and it's GONE. To say my family liked it would be an understatement. I liked it too, really nice taste and a good texture - I thought no kneading might make it too dense for me, but it wasn't. That said though, there were a few little comments I had on the recipe. "Dough will be sticky" in the directions made me expect that it would be a loose dough and mine wasn't really. I had a bit of a hard time "folding in" the cheese (which I cut in small cubes like most of the other reviewers) and pepper, so it didn't disperse throughout the loaf as much as I hoped. The cheese was mostly around the edges with just a few cubes here and there in the middle, and the pepper was in small deposits through the loaf. I think I would have prefered adding the pepper with the sour cream and sugar and stuff, to better mix it in. I didn't divide the dough, there's really no need. It took about 1.5 hours to rise, and I baked 30 mins. I would definitely make this again and recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Made this for the *RECIPE GROUP* I didn't like it very much. Thought it was guite boring. If I made it again I would change it up by using more cheese (maybe a different type?) and maybe putting grated parm. on top, but as is I didn't like it. Mine also came out quite dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Prepared for the Recipe Group. Hubby and son really liked this. My daughter and I like a lighter texture. I let the sour cream and egg sit at room temp for approx. 1 hr before proceeding. Proofed the yeast in 110* water and the sugar for 10 min. I followed others suggestions and used approx. 1 1/2 cups cubed (small) cheese (1 cup sharp cheddar and 1/2 cup colby jack). Hubby loves black pepper so I used a heaping 1/2 teasp. I also added about 1 1/2 TBS snipped chives to the batter. It took 1 1/4 hours for the dough to double in a 9 x 5 glass loaf pan and was perfectly done at exactly 35 minutes. Very tasty and filling. Definately better if served warm from the oven or warmed up the next day. I will make this again for the ones in my family that really liked it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Can_It_Rachael
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
RECIPE GROUP~ I made one loaf in a loaf pan and was surprised at how well it rose. The flavor is pretty good and it has a nice texture. It is reminiscent of a batter roll recipe I grew up on. My mom made the rolls in muffin tins and would add different things for flavor probably depending on what she was serving. Sometimes she added cottage cheese and chives other times it was sharp cheddar and dill weed. I am gonna play around with this next time. It's nice to not total my kitchen counter with flour for kneading and still be able to make a yeast bread to go with a meal. UPDATE: The morning after I made this, the bread was still tender, didn't crumble when I sliced it,and my husband said the cheese flavor was stronger. I decided to give a full 5 stars instead of the 4 rating I had first given this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I did let my egg and sour cream come to room temperature before making this recipe. I proofed the yeast in the bowl of my Kitchen Aid with the water and sugar for ten minutes, then added the sour cream and egg, then the dry ingredients. I did need a just a little more than 1/4 of a cup more flour than the recipe called for to get it to form into a ball (I didn't want to add too much flour) and jump on the hook, even then, it was a VERY moist dough. I kneaded the dough with the dough hook for five minutes. I then set the dough to rise on a warm heating pad for an hour in a covered, greased bowl. This dough did not want to rise. At all. I decided to make rolls out of the dough instead of dividing it and baking it in a loaf pan. I used my dry 1/4 cup measuring cup to get even sized rolls. I was able to get eleven medium sized rolls out of one recipe. I set the rolls in the muffin tin to rise again on the warm heating pad for another 45 minutes and this time, they did rise......slightly. I baked these rolls at 400* for 12 minutes. Right out of the oven, I brushed each hot roll with warm melted butter. For me, I was not impressed with this recipe. The dough came together easily but was more of a "batter" bread than a true yeast dough. And the sour cream overpowers every other flavor in this bread. I think it might have been better had it been half sour cream and another wet ingredient. The "peppery" part of this recipe is not very prominent, either. Fair recipe, but not a favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States