Pepperoni Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This recipe was very good and easy! I did bake the hollowed out zucchinis for 20 minutes at 370 since I don't like biting into crunchy zucchini, but other than that I didn't change it at all. Since I baked it twice the shells came out nice and tender and the filling in it was simple and wonderful. My husband and I really liked it, but the two year old didn't so much...oh well, we'll have it again for sure! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Singingchef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
We made this recipe as printed only before adding the zucchini and onions into the zucchini boats, sprinked the boat with an Italian blend of cheese, added some Italian seasoning to the zucchini and onion mixture and filled the boat. Then sprinkled more cheese on top. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow likes to cook
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I liked this alot. They make a great lunch or slice them in 1" slices after baking and serve as appetizers. I sauted the onions pepperoni and zucchini "insides" with salt and pepper. I do recommend salt and peppering the inside of the zucchini before stuffing so that gets some flavor as well. I topped it off with some freshly grated parmasian and baked in the toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I made this twice already and we love it! I used tiny cubed salami since we have a 2-year old and a 9-month old and pepperoni would've been too spicy. I also used sliced green onion instead of the white onion and some feta cheese. I put a couple of dots of cream cheese on the bottom of the zucchini boats before adding the remaining ingredients and it was so good and creamy! My kids absolutely loved it - especially the mozarella on top. My nine-month old ate nearly an entire half by himself! We had guests over and I made it again, and that's all they would talk about. I used 8 zucchinis since our garden was overflowing with them, and I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Sopt

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was the first time in my life I ate zucchini and loved it! My husband and 7yr old also raved. I added a smear of cream cheese to the bottom of the boats before putting the fillings in, as someone else suggested doing. I used a grapefruit spoon to scoop out the middles. On the bigger squash I mistakenly left too much rind - make sure you scoop them as thin as you can. This recipe did take me closer to 25 min to prep, but that's probably because it was my first time trying to stuff a zucchini! Great recipe I'll be buying a lot more zucchini in my weekly trips to the farmers market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by synchroanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trotwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bremen, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I will not rate a recipe unless I first make it as written. It is excellent, easy and tasty. I might change it a bit with some herbs and seasonings added to the zucchini before everything else is added, but this is a great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This recipe is definitely a keeper! I sprinkled the shells with salt and pepper and put some olive oil in the saute pan. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I loved this recipe. I did make a few slight changes though. I used a turkey kielbasa sausage and chopped it up. I also spread a little cream cheese in the zucchini before filling it, as another person suggested. Other than that I pretty much followed the recipe. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I took the basics of this recipe, and really tweeked it a lot. I did use some pepperoni, but also used sweet itaian sausage, added mushrooms, garlic, and red bell pepper. Also, after scooping the meat of the zucchini out, I put a layer of grated mozarella inside the skins, then added the remaining ingredients. This gave the sausage, pepperoni, and the rest of the fillng something to grab on to. I finished by topping with fresh romano cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States