Pepperoni Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I thought these were great! Only change I made was to add additional cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made these for a recent party. I followed the recipe exactly apart from adding a bit extra parmesan on top. These were the first plate to be emptied, in fact some guests never got to try them because others thought they were so good. Without a doubt I will make these for future parties. Thankyou so much Sharyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
very good recipe-wonderful flavor. I used the advice of another reviewer and sauteed the mushrooms first to remove moisture. I did not have large mushrooms, so I layered a casserole dish with smaller mushrooms and then poured the stuffing on top, sort of like a casserole. The only thing I did not like was all the grease from the pepperoni. I may try to drain it somehow before adding the crackers next time. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I made half of this recipe and filled the mushrooms about 2 hrs. before baking and refrigerated them - worked fine. Followed the recipe as written and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Again, another hit with my family. These were really good. I used turkey pepperoni and Italian bread crumbs instead of the buttery crackers for fewer calories. The flavors were fantastic. I have never had pepperoni in stuffed mushrooms before, but I was really pleased with the results. I made these with Asian Lettuce Wraps and St. Louis Toasted Ravioli for super bowl and these were 3 winning dishes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This recipe is very good! My family has always made sausage stuffed mushrooms as an hors d'oeuvre, and you couldn't really tell it was pepperoni. Instead of round butter crackers, I used Sociables. The extra seasoning in the crackers made them very tasty with a zing! Also, it wasn't really necessary to use chicken broth. Water worked just as well. I also put a sprinkle of mozzarella on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aqua Eyes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I was lucky enough to get this recipe from Koalagirl before it was published and I decided to make these for our annual friends and family post Christmas tree picking and chopping party a few weeks ago. Honestly, everyone said that they were the best stuffed mushrooms they had ever tasted. I did add more parm than suggested and I replaced the broth with white wine. Sprinkled more parm on top with a dot of evoo and a bit of paprika. These were sensational Shar and I thank you so much for the sneak preview!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I made these for our Christmas Eve celebration and they were a hit. I used the gigantic stuffing mushrooms from Costco, which made for a showy platter. Instead of butter crackers I used French's Fried Onions (Cheddar flavored) and whirled them up to crumbs in my mini processor... I believed this really added that special somethin' somethin' to what was an already fantastic appetizer. Bravo, Koalagirl, for providing an excellent appetizer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Wow, these were great! Even two of my mushroom-hating kids tore them up! The only changes I made was substituting the cracker crumbs for Parmesan flavored bread crumbs since that's what I had on hand, and topping each mushroom with a torn slice of mozzarella cheese the last few seconds of baking, then hiking the temp up to broil to get some cheese bubbling action going. Just my little tip with stuffed mushrooms: I always saute the whole mushroom caps on both sides for a few minutes, then drain hollowed side down on paper towels for at least 10 minutes prior to stuffing. This softens the mushrooms a little for a more tender texture, and draws some of the natural water out of them so you can avoid a soggy, wet mushroom. Also reduces baking time for the finished product, and they always turn out perfectly tender and sog-free! :-) Thanks so much for the recipe...can't wait to serve these at the Superbowl party. I might even try a little marinara sauce on the side for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
These were a hit! I had enough stuffing to make about 3 times as many mushrooms. Next time I'll buy more mushrooms to use. I also sauted the mushrooms before stuffing as someone else suggested. And added a bit of cheese on top. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States