Pepperoni Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Wow, these were great! Even two of my mushroom-hating kids tore them up! The only changes I made was substituting the cracker crumbs for Parmesan flavored bread crumbs since that's what I had on hand, and topping each mushroom with a torn slice of mozzarella cheese the last few seconds of baking, then hiking the temp up to broil to get some cheese bubbling action going. Just my little tip with stuffed mushrooms: I always saute the whole mushroom caps on both sides for a few minutes, then drain hollowed side down on paper towels for at least 10 minutes prior to stuffing. This softens the mushrooms a little for a more tender texture, and draws some of the natural water out of them so you can avoid a soggy, wet mushroom. Also reduces baking time for the finished product, and they always turn out perfectly tender and sog-free! :-) Thanks so much for the recipe...can't wait to serve these at the Superbowl party. I might even try a little marinara sauce on the side for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I was lucky enough to get this recipe from Koalagirl before it was published and I decided to make these for our annual friends and family post Christmas tree picking and chopping party a few weeks ago. Honestly, everyone said that they were the best stuffed mushrooms they had ever tasted. I did add more parm than suggested and I replaced the broth with white wine. Sprinkled more parm on top with a dot of evoo and a bit of paprika. These were sensational Shar and I thank you so much for the sneak preview!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I made these for our Christmas Eve celebration and they were a hit. I used the gigantic stuffing mushrooms from Costco, which made for a showy platter. Instead of butter crackers I used French's Fried Onions (Cheddar flavored) and whirled them up to crumbs in my mini processor... I believed this really added that special somethin' somethin' to what was an already fantastic appetizer. Bravo, Koalagirl, for providing an excellent appetizer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Someone gave me this recipe years ago and I've been making them, at my father-in-law's request, for every holiday, ever since. Turkey pepperoni is the way to go, cuts down on the fat content. And the cracker crumbs make the recipe. I also found out that you can cook these in the microwave which really helps out on holidays like Thanksgiving, when the oven is already in use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
All I can say is that everyone at my dinner party last night said these were the best stuffed mushroms they have ever had...be sure to make extra! I would suggest making 3 per person. I bought the larger mushrooms from Costco vs the smaller ones from the grocery store...this made all the difference and were a better price too! Be sure to get fresh pepperoni from the deli...I used Boar's Head...they sliced it in pieces about a 1/4 inch thick so that I could dice it easily. I used two garlic cloves instead of one (used jarred minced). I used garlic herb crackers (TownHouse Toppers) to add some flavor vs just using plain butter crackers. I added extra parm (used a 1/4 cup total) and instead of grating it I used the shredded bagged and put in the mini-chopper. I used chicken broth and thought it tasted great...will maybe try white wine (as others have done) next time to compare. I sprinkled paprika over them before baking to add a little flavor. About half way through baking I sprinkled on some shredded parm...this added a nice flavor to the top. One thing that is very important, as others have mentioned, is to saute AND drain the mushrooms before stuffing them. I did saute them but forgot to drain them afterwards...all was okay but the bottom of the pyrex dish was quite liquidy after I baked them...was no biggy but I would have liked for them to have been less soggy. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I used italian style bread crumbs instead of the crackers & oregano. Turned out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
These were a hit! I had enough stuffing to make about 3 times as many mushrooms. Next time I'll buy more mushrooms to use. I also sauted the mushrooms before stuffing as someone else suggested. And added a bit of cheese on top. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Absolutely incredible! My gosh are these tasty! Didn't change a darn thing in the recipe - it's perfect. The chicken broth cooks the mushrooms perfectly, so sauteeing the mushrooms before stuffing them (as noted in other reviews) is unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Not really a fan. Just seemed to be something missing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
So, when a person tells you "I just can't stay out of these mushrooms!!!" You know that it's good! I made this for some ladies at a Women's Bible Studay at Church and it was a HUGE hit! Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe. I also promoted this site to all of the ladies at Church!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States