Pepperoni Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
So, when a person tells you "I just can't stay out of these mushrooms!!!" You know that it's good! I made this for some ladies at a Women's Bible Studay at Church and it was a HUGE hit! Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe. I also promoted this site to all of the ladies at Church!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Made these for the Super Bowl and should have made twice as many, these were outstanding, the first dish emptied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I made half of this recipe and filled the mushrooms about 2 hrs. before baking and refrigerated them - worked fine. Followed the recipe as written and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
These were a hit! I had enough stuffing to make about 3 times as many mushrooms. Next time I'll buy more mushrooms to use. I also sauted the mushrooms before stuffing as someone else suggested. And added a bit of cheese on top. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
So sorry to rate this lower than the others. I made 36 mushrooms and they were slimy and mushy. The taste was okay - the texture was not what I expected. Everyone tried them and didn't have another & I tossed out the rest. Maybe I did something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Again, another hit with my family. These were really good. I used turkey pepperoni and Italian bread crumbs instead of the buttery crackers for fewer calories. The flavors were fantastic. I have never had pepperoni in stuffed mushrooms before, but I was really pleased with the results. I made these with Asian Lettuce Wraps and St. Louis Toasted Ravioli for super bowl and these were 3 winning dishes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This recipe is very good! My family has always made sausage stuffed mushrooms as an hors d'oeuvre, and you couldn't really tell it was pepperoni. Instead of round butter crackers, I used Sociables. The extra seasoning in the crackers made them very tasty with a zing! Also, it wasn't really necessary to use chicken broth. Water worked just as well. I also put a sprinkle of mozzarella on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aqua Eyes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
very good recipe-wonderful flavor. I used the advice of another reviewer and sauteed the mushrooms first to remove moisture. I did not have large mushrooms, so I layered a casserole dish with smaller mushrooms and then poured the stuffing on top, sort of like a casserole. The only thing I did not like was all the grease from the pepperoni. I may try to drain it somehow before adding the crackers next time. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Wow, these were great! Even two of my mushroom-hating kids tore them up! The only changes I made was substituting the cracker crumbs for Parmesan flavored bread crumbs since that's what I had on hand, and topping each mushroom with a torn slice of mozzarella cheese the last few seconds of baking, then hiking the temp up to broil to get some cheese bubbling action going. Just my little tip with stuffed mushrooms: I always saute the whole mushroom caps on both sides for a few minutes, then drain hollowed side down on paper towels for at least 10 minutes prior to stuffing. This softens the mushrooms a little for a more tender texture, and draws some of the natural water out of them so you can avoid a soggy, wet mushroom. Also reduces baking time for the finished product, and they always turn out perfectly tender and sog-free! :-) Thanks so much for the recipe...can't wait to serve these at the Superbowl party. I might even try a little marinara sauce on the side for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I made these for our Christmas Eve celebration and they were a hit. I used the gigantic stuffing mushrooms from Costco, which made for a showy platter. Instead of butter crackers I used French's Fried Onions (Cheddar flavored) and whirled them up to crumbs in my mini processor... I believed this really added that special somethin' somethin' to what was an already fantastic appetizer. Bravo, Koalagirl, for providing an excellent appetizer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States