Pepperoni Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
These are average and the pepperoni makes them a little greasy too. Was worth trying, but I have better recipes to stuff mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
WOW this was a great addition to my collection of appetizers!! I made it for the football crowd but added more garlic and used rosemary wholegrain crackers instead pf buttery crackers- I also borrowed a tip form someone else and plunked a small bit of mozarella cheese on top when almost finished baking- they were a hit and were gobbled up in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
All I can say is that everyone at my dinner party last night said these were the best stuffed mushroms they have ever had...be sure to make extra! I would suggest making 3 per person. I bought the larger mushrooms from Costco vs the smaller ones from the grocery store...this made all the difference and were a better price too! Be sure to get fresh pepperoni from the deli...I used Boar's Head...they sliced it in pieces about a 1/4 inch thick so that I could dice it easily. I used two garlic cloves instead of one (used jarred minced). I used garlic herb crackers (TownHouse Toppers) to add some flavor vs just using plain butter crackers. I added extra parm (used a 1/4 cup total) and instead of grating it I used the shredded bagged and put in the mini-chopper. I used chicken broth and thought it tasted great...will maybe try white wine (as others have done) next time to compare. I sprinkled paprika over them before baking to add a little flavor. About half way through baking I sprinkled on some shredded parm...this added a nice flavor to the top. One thing that is very important, as others have mentioned, is to saute AND drain the mushrooms before stuffing them. I did saute them but forgot to drain them afterwards...all was okay but the bottom of the pyrex dish was quite liquidy after I baked them...was no biggy but I would have liked for them to have been less soggy. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
These were really different. never stuffed them w/ pepperoni before. i used 50% fat pepperoni, WW bread crumbs and about 1/4 c. of parm cheese. i also used a reisling that was opened for the chix broth. I did follow one reader's suggestion of sauteing mushrooms and draining upside down prior to stuffing. when mushrooms were almost done, i sprinkled tops w/ shredded mozz cheese. good reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHATTY304

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Delish, Delish, DE-LISH! These came out like little pizzas in a 'shroom! I was able to make the stuffing part the night before, and it held up perfectly. I used little pepperoni snack sticks to dice up.Big sticks would have been way too hard to dice into small pieces. Followed directions exactly. No need for subsitutions! All of these went!!! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I followed the recipe except I used Italian bread crumbs instead of the crackers and it was soooo salty. I was so disappointed but thankfully I had prepared your fantastic "Gary's Stuffed Mushrooms so it wasn't a total loss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
For someone that doens't always like mushrooms, this recipe was delicious. The one thing I would suggest is using honey-garlic smoked pepperoni, the extra flavor it added was excellent. Though next time I will definately saute the caps longer to keep them from getting too soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
the only thing is i use real pepperoni that fake(turkey pepperoni) is for the birds pun intended great recipe though thank you for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Someone gave me this recipe years ago and I've been making them, at my father-in-law's request, for every holiday, ever since. Turkey pepperoni is the way to go, cuts down on the fat content. And the cracker crumbs make the recipe. I also found out that you can cook these in the microwave which really helps out on holidays like Thanksgiving, when the oven is already in use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheepy
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
These turned out well. I had to substitute white wine for the chicken stock but otherwise followed the recipe as written. I'm not sure if I liked the crackers in this but I loved the pepperoni! Thanks, K-Girl:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States