Pepperoni Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I really like the sweetness of the dough in contrast with the pepperoni, Try adding a bit of shredded mozzarella cheese with the pepperoni, and sprinkle a little garlic powder/salt on top of rolls before baking. I also baked them at 375 for 15 min., that seem to do the trick. Sausage and peppers might be a great variation. I'm keeping the dough recipe as a keeper, thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I love this recipe. The only things I did differently are the following: I added a little bit of mozzarella cheese to each roll, I cut the sugar in half (hubby didn't like them so sweet, but I thought they tasted good), and I added minced garlic to the dough. None of the changes I made were necessary, but I feel they made the rolls taste better in the end. These pepperoni rolls keep well and warm up well so I appreciate that this recipe makes 20. Fantastic! *Edit: I took another reviewer's advice and brushed the tops of the rolls with egg and sprinkled them with garlic powder and oregano. This made the rolls look so professional. My husband told me that when he took them in to work for his lunch, he had someone ask him where he'd bought them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ettare

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carraz
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
My husband is from PA, and he raves about the "pepperoni balls" they sell there. So I was very excited to find this recipe, and he said it sounded just like them. We both thought these were very good, but he said they didn't taste at all like the ones he ate all the time growing up. When I cooked for 16 min. and the tops were barely golden, like the recipe says, they were still a bit doughy inside. I put them back in the oven for a few more minutes and they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carraz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Originally from the 'Burgh, and when I asked my 28 yr old son what food he wanted for his birthday, he said "Pepperoni rolls like you used to make". Since I had lost the recipe, I luckily found yours!! I did make just a couple tiny alterations-not with the dough! Just in using a small block of mozzarella on top of the pepperoni & a sprinkle of garlic powder; then after sealing, in a small bowl I placed 4 slices of pepperoni & a couple tbl. of butter and microwaved it till it infused the melted butter with the pepperoni. I then brushed that on top of the rolls, sprinkled with alittle garlic powder & popped in the oven. After baking I brushed them again with the "pepperoni butter" and I have to say they were GONE in minutes. So fast that I had to make another batch! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAgirlgoneSouth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
GREAT RECIPE! I'm from WV, so I eat these all the time from the store, but it's much better having them homemade. I didn't put it as much sugar as it called for, but other than that, I left everything the same. I did add a bit of garlic and oregano to the dough and put in a little mozzarella cheese between the pepperoni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Yummy, yummy!! I made these in my bread maker, cutting the sugar to 2/3 cup for the dough & adding smoked provolone to the filling, & they were fantastic! The whole family loved them & they were gone in no time! Will make these again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbqgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Very good dough! I will definately be keeping this one. I made mine with garlic powder and oregano on top before baking and turned out wonderful. The only change I made was to cook at 375, like the others and works great! Maybe next time I will try and make small pizza bites out of this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Wow - this along with Heavenly Hot Dog sauce are West Virginia originals that I'm going to start making here in Canada where I now live. Watch out Canadians! West Virginia culture taking over! and... Let's Gooooooooo Mountaineers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Reminds me of home West "By God" Virginia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These were okay, not great. I was hoping for a more chewy dough. To me, it was too sweet and too heavy. I will keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States