Pepperoni Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by carraz
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
My husband is from PA, and he raves about the "pepperoni balls" they sell there. So I was very excited to find this recipe, and he said it sounded just like them. We both thought these were very good, but he said they didn't taste at all like the ones he ate all the time growing up. When I cooked for 16 min. and the tops were barely golden, like the recipe says, they were still a bit doughy inside. I put them back in the oven for a few more minutes and they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carraz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I have been long looking for a pepperoni rolls recipe. We are from PA and pepperoni rolls are so popular out there. These turned out lovely just needed a little more time baking. I skipped the sugar and salt in the dough and added a little cheese in between the pepperoni. turned out beautiful. Love them. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I put a layer of ranch dressing followed by chopped peperoni and mild pepper rings. Rolled, cut, let rise, and cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I really like the sweetness of the dough in contrast with the pepperoni, Try adding a bit of shredded mozzarella cheese with the pepperoni, and sprinkle a little garlic powder/salt on top of rolls before baking. I also baked them at 375 for 15 min., that seem to do the trick. Sausage and peppers might be a great variation. I'm keeping the dough recipe as a keeper, thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
We live in SE NC and my son has been begging for these (he has them every time we visit family in WV). I made them tonight, used turkey pepperoni in a few for me, and they were awesome. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe, it's a keeper here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Al

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gandeeville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Winnabow, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
These rolls were very easy to make, and my family really enjoyed them. After I started making them, I realized I was out of white sugar, so I used about 1/2 cup brown sugar instead. I also replaced 1 1/2 cups of the white flour with whole wheat. The only problem I had was making the dough into round balls with all the pepperoni inside. I ended up using three pieces in each instead of six, which wasn't enough. If I make them again, I will use six pieces! Thanks for the good and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Very good dough! I will definately be keeping this one. I made mine with garlic powder and oregano on top before baking and turned out wonderful. The only change I made was to cook at 375, like the others and works great! Maybe next time I will try and make small pizza bites out of this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
YUM! I subbed 1 cup of spelt flour and used slightly less sugar..probably about 2/3 cup. I had a nice spicy imported pepperoni that I sliced and quartered, and I also added shredded mozzarella. We loved them and will make again soon, probably trying some garlic in the dough next time. Update: made these for the 2nd time last weekend. I added garlic to the dough and ground my pepperoni in the food processor rather than using sliced. We loved it. My husband's son is already requesting them again, so these will end up in the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These were okay, not great. I was hoping for a more chewy dough. To me, it was too sweet and too heavy. I will keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
These rolls are amazing. They are just like the ones I used to get before school in high school from a little local bakery in Maryland. The dough is a a little sweet and balances the pepperoni perfectly. I make them for parties frequently and everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States