Pepperoni Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
These are great tasting & easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
this recipe is perfect!! i made so many of these in the last two weeks, because every time i make them they disappear! i put 7-9 pieces of pepperoni in each of mine. i use brown sugar instead of white, and added another 1/2 tsp of salt. i also recommend when kneading the dough put some spices and herbs down to give the dough more flavor. thanks for recipe. BE WARNED these are addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
i live in new mexico now but i grew up in the greater pa, wv area and i never realized until i found this recipe that you can't find pepperoni rolls anywhere here. these are something my life has been sorely lacking without my realizing it. thank you so much for this recipe, they always turn out perfectly! i like cheese in my pepperoni rolls so i always add some provolone or whatever else i've got. thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Cindy Shivers
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These were very blah. I used turkey pepperoni and added some 2% provalone cheese inside but they were so bland I threw them away after we ate one. We even tried dipping them in homemade pizza sauce but there was no saving them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Shivers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Yummy, yummy!! I made these in my bread maker, cutting the sugar to 2/3 cup for the dough & adding smoked provolone to the filling, & they were fantastic! The whole family loved them & they were gone in no time! Will make these again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbqgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
i thought these were great, I did bake at 375* for 15-18 mins.. and i did make the rolls up with pepperoni and cheese inside.. made the rolls up and let them raise for 30 mins and then baked them, coulnt be happier.. I also made then with shreded roast beef , onions and cheese inside and bakeed them.Wonderfull. thanks for posting this recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I haven't tried this specific recipe, but the pepperoni roll is definately a local tradition that gets 5 stars in my book (check out the wikipedia page for background info). For those of you not familiar with this cuisine, a common way to serve this is similar to a calzone. The pepperoni roll is typically bigger in size approx 6 inchs in length and 2-3 diameter. Once baked, these rolls can be stored in the refrigerator, frozen or kept on the counter top. When ready to serve, cut open and stuffed with sweet or spicy peppers in sauce (Oliverio's or Dellano's peppers are used locally) and mozerella cheese and then baked in the oven until the cheese is melted (approx 250 for 15 min))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I wish I could give this 4.5 stars--it is almost a 5 star recipe as written, but a couple things take it down a bit. I reduced the sugar from 3/4 c. to 1/2 c. (and half of that I used Splenda). It was still too sweet for me, I guess I absolutely don't like sweet bread with pepperoni! There is also what I have to assume is an error in the recipe in that there is no 2nd rise time given. Sure it'll WORK without the 2nd rise, but you aren't going to get a soft fluffy bread roll with pepperoni in it, and maybe you aren't even supposed to. But, I couldn't take that risk, so I let mine rise a 2nd time til doubled. They baked up beautifully (my pic will show them very brown, because I used half whole wheat). I was very pleased with the dough, I found it excellent to work with, a nice elasticity to it for shaping. As far as the flavor of this bread goes, I think the missing ingredient is corn meal. I think there should be less sugar, and a bit of cornmeal added (which has its own sweetness, being corn.) I may try it that way sometime and update if I do :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
These rolls are amazing. They are just like the ones I used to get before school in high school from a little local bakery in Maryland. The dough is a a little sweet and balances the pepperoni perfectly. I make them for parties frequently and everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These were okay, not great. I was hoping for a more chewy dough. To me, it was too sweet and too heavy. I will keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States