Pepperoni Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
The dough was outstanding. I made some with pepperoni, some with sliced turkey, and some with mozzarella cheese. Next time I think I will make them with both cheese and meat, because I ended up with too much dough and not enough stuffing, so they were a bit dry. Or maybe more meat per round. This would also make a fantastic Stromboli dough (big loaf, then sliced).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya M. Shafer
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Delicious. I'm originally from Greenbrier County and live in Europe. When I crave pepperoni rolls, I make them, and this recipeis great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya M. Shafer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I made the dough in my breadmaker and shaped into logs instead of rounds. I added a few strips of roasted red peppers and some mozzarella cheese. I think next time I will add more pepperoni cut very thin and distribute more evenly throughout the roll instead of just in the center. I am from western PA and and although the flavor of the dough was very good, they weren't as crusty or chewy as the ones I get from our local Italian market. I will keep experimenting. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Pretty good. I cut back on the sugar by about 1/4, and I think they are still a bit too sweet, so I'd cut back on the sugar even more. I didn't add any garlic or other spices to the dough, but I may do that next time. I didn't exactly layer six pieces of pepperoni, but I had large pieces of pepperoni so I just went with 2, and that worked just fine. The flavor from the pepperoni does go well with the sweetness of the rolls, but it's still too sweet for me. I ran out of pepperoni so I tried turkey, then cheese when I ran out of turkey. They were all pretty good, but bf's preference was for the turkey. I'd add mustard next time with the turkey--just my preference. All in all, pretty good recipe. I don't have any store bought pepperoni rolls to compare them to, so I can't speak to that. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
As a transplanted West Virginian I was feeling homesick and took a chance and searched for a pepperoni roll recipe. To my surprise I found one. You must try these. Delicious snack if you just don't know what you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Wow - this along with Heavenly Hot Dog sauce are West Virginia originals that I'm going to start making here in Canada where I now live. Watch out Canadians! West Virginia culture taking over! and... Let's Gooooooooo Mountaineers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe! I made the dough as is, except I added a little dried basil and dried oregano to the dough. I know there are a lot of reviewers that cut the amount of sugar, but I kept the sugar measurement as written...I like the sweetness of the dough contrasted with the salty pepperoni. I also added some shredded mozzarella to the pepperoni before I rolled it up. Prior to baking, I brushed each roll with a butter/olive oil mixture and coated each roll with a mix of fennel and caraway seeds. Gobbled them up with ranch dressing on the side. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
We live in the Eastern Panhandle of WV and I usually pick up pepperoni rolls from the Mennonite bakery near me if I don't have any homemade. After tasting theirs, I started putting shredded Italian cheese blend, as well as a Tbsp. of spaghetti sauce inside before sealing. Yummy! I also use the sweet dinner roll recipe on All Recipes and make it in the breadmaker. Much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
These are good but the dough I think is just a bit sweet for pepperoni rolls. Don't get me wrong I like my rolls sweet but these were a bit too much. I brushed the rolls with olive oil fresh out of the oven and sprinkled with garlic salt. Next time I make them, and I will, I'll reduce the sugar, sprinkle the inside with garlic salt, and probably add cheese inside. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
YUM!!! These were sooo good! I reduced sugar to 1/2 cup and the dough was still nice and sweet. I didn't have pepperoni, but I had chorizo and salami. I also added cheese--cheddar with the chorizo and mozzarella with the salami. The dough was great to work with. I only wish I had made more! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States