Pepperoni Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Oh WOW...these are FANTASTIC!!! I mixed the dough up right in my bread machine and proceeded with the recipe from there (the dough was wonderful to work with). I did reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup and I think it's perfect for us just like that. I also added to them, along with the pepperoni, salami, provalone cheese and a little pizza sauce~YUM! I got 16 beautiful rolls. I made these for dinner tonight, but, of course, I HAD to taste test them...SO GOOD, and just the right amount of sweetness to balance the saltiness of the meats, cheese and sauce. The posibilities of additions in these are endless...This is a definate keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was the second time I had made these. The first time I thought I had done something wrong because they came out a bit "heavy." But, it came out the same way this time, so I'm assuming it's how they are supposed to be. With that aside, they are so delicious that I had to walk way before I ate another one. This time I did put a piece of mozzarella in the middle, but without it they were just as good. They took about 16 minutes and turned out perfect. The dough is a beautiful dough to work with, though it seemed to take forever to double in volume. This is going to be a definite keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Used my KitchenAid mixer and the dough was great from this and was quick (I am thinking pizza now for this douch) but you need a warm place to get it to rise. This is the most elastic dough I think I have ever felt (used my pizza marble roller and highly recomment it for easy rolling). H
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I love this recipe. The only things I did differently are the following: I added a little bit of mozzarella cheese to each roll, I cut the sugar in half (hubby didn't like them so sweet, but I thought they tasted good), and I added minced garlic to the dough. None of the changes I made were necessary, but I feel they made the rolls taste better in the end. These pepperoni rolls keep well and warm up well so I appreciate that this recipe makes 20. Fantastic! *Edit: I took another reviewer's advice and brushed the tops of the rolls with egg and sprinkled them with garlic powder and oregano. This made the rolls look so professional. My husband told me that when he took them in to work for his lunch, he had someone ask him where he'd bought them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ettare

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Reminds me of home West "By God" Virginia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Maybe I did something wrong. The dough was entirely too sticky. I added about a cup more flour and then the dough was too hard. I usually have no problem with yeast doughs, but this was just a waste. How disappointing. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
These are great! They are great as is, but if you want something more pizza-ish, you can reduce the sugar in the dough to about 1/3 cup, add oregano, parsley, and garlic powder to the dough, and add about 1/2 cup tomato sauce and 1 cup of cheese to the pepperoni. Delicious! Big hit at parties too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I live in western PA and these were very different from what I am used to having around here, but loved the taste. Next time, I plan to take advice from others and add cheese. My kids complained that there wasn't enough pepperoni and too much dough, so the next time I will be adding more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin_like_Gram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
GREAT RECIPE! I'm from WV, so I eat these all the time from the store, but it's much better having them homemade. I didn't put it as much sugar as it called for, but other than that, I left everything the same. I did add a bit of garlic and oregano to the dough and put in a little mozzarella cheese between the pepperoni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Great recipe! It takes patience to roll them individually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States