Pepperoni Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Originally from the 'Burgh, and when I asked my 28 yr old son what food he wanted for his birthday, he said "Pepperoni rolls like you used to make". Since I had lost the recipe, I luckily found yours!! I did make just a couple tiny alterations-not with the dough! Just in using a small block of mozzarella on top of the pepperoni & a sprinkle of garlic powder; then after sealing, in a small bowl I placed 4 slices of pepperoni & a couple tbl. of butter and microwaved it till it infused the melted butter with the pepperoni. I then brushed that on top of the rolls, sprinkled with alittle garlic powder & popped in the oven. After baking I brushed them again with the "pepperoni butter" and I have to say they were GONE in minutes. So fast that I had to make another batch! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAgirlgoneSouth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe. Did not change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Yum! I carmelized onions and chopped some chorizo sausage as a filler along with shredded cheese and red sauce (instead of pepperoni.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farnborough, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
The dough was outstanding. I made some with pepperoni, some with sliced turkey, and some with mozzarella cheese. Next time I think I will make them with both cheese and meat, because I ended up with too much dough and not enough stuffing, so they were a bit dry. Or maybe more meat per round. This would also make a fantastic Stromboli dough (big loaf, then sliced).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya M. Shafer
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Delicious. I'm originally from Greenbrier County and live in Europe. When I crave pepperoni rolls, I make them, and this recipeis great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya M. Shafer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I made the dough in my breadmaker and shaped into logs instead of rounds. I added a few strips of roasted red peppers and some mozzarella cheese. I think next time I will add more pepperoni cut very thin and distribute more evenly throughout the roll instead of just in the center. I am from western PA and and although the flavor of the dough was very good, they weren't as crusty or chewy as the ones I get from our local Italian market. I will keep experimenting. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Pretty good. I cut back on the sugar by about 1/4, and I think they are still a bit too sweet, so I'd cut back on the sugar even more. I didn't add any garlic or other spices to the dough, but I may do that next time. I didn't exactly layer six pieces of pepperoni, but I had large pieces of pepperoni so I just went with 2, and that worked just fine. The flavor from the pepperoni does go well with the sweetness of the rolls, but it's still too sweet for me. I ran out of pepperoni so I tried turkey, then cheese when I ran out of turkey. They were all pretty good, but bf's preference was for the turkey. I'd add mustard next time with the turkey--just my preference. All in all, pretty good recipe. I don't have any store bought pepperoni rolls to compare them to, so I can't speak to that. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
As a transplanted West Virginian I was feeling homesick and took a chance and searched for a pepperoni roll recipe. To my surprise I found one. You must try these. Delicious snack if you just don't know what you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Wow - this along with Heavenly Hot Dog sauce are West Virginia originals that I'm going to start making here in Canada where I now live. Watch out Canadians! West Virginia culture taking over! and... Let's Gooooooooo Mountaineers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States