Pepperoni Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I cut the sugar back to just a half cup and still found the dough to be too sweet to go well with the pepperoni. I also added some mozzerella inside the rolls and served with pizza sauce for dipping. They were okay but I think I'll stick with pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Altho this recipe is very good, on this side of PA. we all deep fry them instead of baking in an oven...they come out crispier and really delicious, sprinkle with a little pretzel salt when they come out... Very Yummmy ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplestardust101

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlantic, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I had high hopes for these, but the dough was a little too dry and a little too sweet. I did use turkey pepperoni so maybe that is why the dough was dry? Next time I would use a lot less sugar and try full fat pepperoni. I am from WV and would love to learn how to make these like I remember them for my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
My dough was a little sticky. I did use a dough hook with my kitchen aid. A little dry and chewy. Maybe hand mixing would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Smith

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
LOVE this recipe! I don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These bring back memories! I love pepperoni rolls, and we always had them as a kid (grew up in the MOV). This is a delicious recipe and will be a keeper. The only things I changed were reducing the sugar to half, adding a little mozzarella cheese and using vegetarian pepperoni. These came out great. I also did the egg wash and sprinkled garlic salt and italian seasoning like others suggested, although the pepperoni rolls we had growing up didn't have any fancy egg wash! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
It's funny because I am from WV and I had no idea pepperoni rolls were so famous from West By God Virginia, lol! This is an amazing recipe however I cut mine in half. I only use 3 cups of flour, 1 egg, 1 tsp salt and little less butter, 1/2 cup sugar and I add some garlic to my bread! This makes 2 very large logs! I baked my logs @ 375 for 15-20 min depending on how they browned. The first batch I added cheese, sauce and ton of cheese and they were so yummy but I could not get the dough on the inside to cook right even after I put them back in the oven. The second batch I did everything the same but left out the sauce and they were not doughy. I am still going to experiment with the sauce because it really made a big difference but it tasted raw on the inside bottom, yuck! The only thing that I must say is an absolute must that another reader wrote, you must melt the butter with pepperoni and put it on top. I make mine in logs not rolls. I made two last night one without the mixture on top and the other with the mixture. My husband laughed and asked me if I was trying to kill him when I first melted the butter with the pepperoni and put it on top. Yes, it's very greasy but it's amazing! We really don't like the one without that on top it changes the flavor! This is a keeper thank you so much for sharing! I have baked 4 in the past week! Very simple and yummy they go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Add some pizza sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I used the actual recipe for two things: 1. the idea and 2. for the baking temp/time. Other than that I winged it. I used my own roll recipe and used cheese in the middle with the pepperoni. I also did an egg wash on top and sprinkled the rolls with garlic and italian seasoning before baking. They turned out great! My husband kept raving over how good they looked, and how they were like individual strombolli pizzas. We will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
cup of sugar in dough makes the difference. add motz cheese to center w pepp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States