Pepperoni Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I made this tonight for my husband. My mother in law is from WV, so he grew up eating homemade pepperoni rolls. I was a little nervous, but he loved them! His only request was to make it with a pepperoni stick rather than sliced pepperoni (that's how his aunt makes them.)I did make a few small changes based on other reviews. I cut the sugar to 2/3 cup. I baked for 14 minutes on 375 and once I removed the rolls from the oven I brushed with melted butter and sprinkled with Italian seasoning and sea salt. Instead of all purpose flour I used 3 cups of bread flour and 2 cups of wheat (I was all out of AP) My entire family enjoyed them and said to put these into the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I have made this recipe numerous times-- I am from WV. This is a good recipe that I tweak a little-- just by adding fresh garlic to the dough while it is in the bread machine and sprinkling a little garlic salt on top before they bake. I only make them every few months because I eat most of them!!! I also put lots more pepperoni in it, and make a bit bigger of a roll. Yumm. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleida Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I grew up in the Ohio Valley, very near to both WV and PA where these originated. Pepperoni rolls were a school lunch staple. I haven't had one in at least 15 years, but suddenly remembered them and wanted to make a batch for me and a friend. I made some minor changes to this recipe, I used melted coconut oil in place of the butter and omitted the 3/4 cup sugar because a sweet dough didn't appeal to me. I also brushed the tops with melted butter and garlic salt both before and after baking. This recipe yielded 30 small rolls for me, and I did sprinkle some shredded mozzarella in half of them with the pepperoni. 16 mins at 350° was just right for these. They did not get browned, but were baked through and warm in the center. The dough was fluffy and soft and just perfect. These tasted exactly like I remember them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
These were wonderful as written. I was questionning whether to decrease the amount of sugar in the dough with the reviews posted but decided to try the original recipe and it was good without variation. There is a sweetness to the dough but it's not overpowering. I used 3-5 slices of the large deli pepperoni in each of the rolls and it came out with a great pepperoni to dough ratio (made 20 rolls as per the recipe). Yes, you can add seasonings to the dough as some suggest but for a true pepperoni roll, stick to the recipe. You won't regret it. Great flavor!! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I made the rolls bigger, with extra pepperoni and a little mozzarella cheese. I also second the suggestion of brushing the tops with egg before baking. Thank you for the great recipe. I grew up eating these things and haven't had one in years. Love that I can make them at home now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by raleigh-ruby-rose
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gigi
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Delicious! I made these last month for a pool party and they were a hit. I used a rolling pin to shape a 4 X 4 and added mozzarella and more pepperoni. The sweet dough really enhances the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Oh my gosh!! These are sooo delicious!! I did add cheese, and I brushed them with Italian dressing when they came out of the oven. I absolutely love the dough. I think just the dough itself is amazing! I may make the dough just as dinner rolls. My biggest issue was actually shaping the rolls. But with more practice, I'm sure I will become a great pepperoni roll-maker!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
The recipe was great. I didn't like the heavy dense texture of the bread so I let it rise before baking. Otherwise very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Very good. Not quite what I used to get from a childhood bakery, but close. I would never go to the trouble to make cupcakes when I could just make a cake, so with this in mind I decided to make loaves instead of rolls. I made the dough in my bread maker. It's very sticky, so I removed it to waxed paper sprayed with Pam, and divided it into four sections. Rolled each section to about 9x12, put 40 pepperoni slices on each, and a handful of cheese. Baked for 35 minutes. The appearance of the second batch benefitted greatly from an egg wash, but next time I'll use butter as I think this must have been what that bakery used. Oh, and more cheese next time too. Thanks! I've been looking for a recipe like this for more years than I want to count. Beats the Rhodes bread dough recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ferrero

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States