Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
These were excellent and made a great addition to my Valentine's Day candy boxes. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quilting Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
EVERYONE LOVES THESE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
These were absolutely amazing! I made platters of candy for Christmas and these were the first to go. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
These are very good! I followed the suggestion of the other reviewer and froze them for about an hour, and I didn't make them very big, it made them easier to coat with the chocolate. Great recipe! Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Unbelievably easy. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and froze the patties before dipping them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Will definitely make again! But here's a tip: freeze the patties first before dipping them in the chocolate and don't make them much wider than your fork. I had problems with them becoming soft when dipping them in the heated chocolate. A few fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was a great recipe! I used peppermint oil instead of peppermint extract, and the first time I made this, I thought that they were the same thing. But now that I've learned that oil is about 100 times stronger than extract, I've made it again and it tastes heavenly. If you ever use peppermint oil, three drops is plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
I used a combination of this recipe and the Eagle Brand one summitted here, as I wanted to use a whole can of condensed milk. This makes a lot of patties! This combination of condensed milk and powdered sugar is just the best! It makes a fantastic dough which is really easy to manipulate. Rather than form them into balls individually, I roll out the dough and cut out the patties with a cookie cutter. You can stick to rounds or use something pretty like a heart. I definitely recommend following the suggestion to freeze before dipping in chocolate. I'll never buy peppermint patties from the store again - these are great and far cheaper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These are the BEST! I've been making these for 5 years now and have given them away in gift baskets along with the recipe on a nicely decorated recipe card for Christmas. What a HIT! They are so light and refreshing for an after dinner sweet. Served best directly from the freezer. Also a couple of tips...when kneading the dough use powdered sugar on the silpat or countertop NOT corn starch and do not cut the sugar as it changes the consistency and makes it much harder to dip successfully. When the chocolate starts to get lumpy from cooling reheat and add a little more shortening until smooth again. I find it easier to dip "frozen" patties with tongs rather than forks, just don't submerge patties for too long and you can always cool and double dip for better coverage. These goodies are worth their weight in gold so don't get discouraged or give up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States