Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Delicious recipe. I used 1 can store brand milk (300mL) and tinted the patties green. 3C chocolate chips was way to much for me. I brushed the chocolate on one side, put them in the fridge, and then brushed the other side with chocolate topping them with crushed candy cane. I kept the chocolate warm with my fondue set - it worked great! I will definitely make this recipe again - it takes a long time to make, but it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Easy & delicious!!! I will definitely be making this again. I used a whole can of condensed milk, 1 tablespoon & I don't really know how much confectioner's sugar. :-) I just kept adding it until it got too stiff to stir. I powdered the counter with the sugar and kneaded it adding more as necessary. I patted it out to about 1/4 inch thickness & used a dose cup from children's OTC medicine to cut out little rounds. It worked perfect and made the dipping easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
WOW!!!! These taste exactly like, if not better than a real peppermint patties!!!! I was concerned that 1 1/2 teaspoons of peppermint would be a little to strong, but it was perfect. I did a mixture of brushing on the chocolate and spooning on the chocolate. Both worked well. To make the spooned on chocolate look decorative, a few min after putting on the chocolate, tap it with a fork once and it puts a very nice design on the top. I think next time I will make them a one bite size. Thank You for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I ended up only using three cups of the sugar and followed the suggestion of brushing on the chocolate instead of dipping it. I also added a splash of milk to the chocolate mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This were amazing! I made a trial batch just in case I can't make them. They turned out great! I only made enough for 15 but ended up getting 21, and they were pretty large. I thought that the filling tasted like a mint Oreo. Yummy! But all in all it turned out great! They were gone by the next morning. I will definitely be making these next week for my Goodie baskets! Oh I also use more shortening in the melted Chocolate, I found that it made it shiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Echelonbrat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
great recipe! I had a hard time dipping them in chocolate so instead used a pastry brush and brushed it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Not sure if this has already been mentioned ... but I use the peppermint patty part of this recipe to fill chocolates. I use melting wafers to coat a mold. That goes in the freezer and then it is very easy to squish a pat of the peppermint patty in the mold and top with more melted chocolate. I think that dark melting wafers (I buy bulk at the grocery store)would work really well if you wanted to make dip the patties like the recipe suggests. Melting wafers are fairly fool-proof :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYJEMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
thought these turned out great used chocolate almond bark. had no problems dipping the in the chocolate and I didnt freeze it before I dipped them. Used tongs instead of a fork thought it was easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
So easy to make and taste just like the ones bought in the store. Had to refrigerate them to get them to completely harden after dipping in chocolate. Ended up being a huge hit for Christmas last year and they are on my list to make this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I use to make these for family around christmas time but lost my recipe. This was just like mine and was easy to make. i always colored my filling green and instead of dipping the mints into chocolate would drizzle chocolate over them. That was just easier for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States