Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This were amazing! I made a trial batch just in case I can't make them. They turned out great! I only made enough for 15 but ended up getting 21, and they were pretty large. I thought that the filling tasted like a mint Oreo. Yummy! But all in all it turned out great! They were gone by the next morning. I will definitely be making these next week for my Goodie baskets! Oh I also use more shortening in the melted Chocolate, I found that it made it shiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Echelonbrat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
great recipe! I had a hard time dipping them in chocolate so instead used a pastry brush and brushed it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Not sure if this has already been mentioned ... but I use the peppermint patty part of this recipe to fill chocolates. I use melting wafers to coat a mold. That goes in the freezer and then it is very easy to squish a pat of the peppermint patty in the mold and top with more melted chocolate. I think that dark melting wafers (I buy bulk at the grocery store)would work really well if you wanted to make dip the patties like the recipe suggests. Melting wafers are fairly fool-proof :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYJEMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
thought these turned out great used chocolate almond bark. had no problems dipping the in the chocolate and I didnt freeze it before I dipped them. Used tongs instead of a fork thought it was easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
So easy to make and taste just like the ones bought in the store. Had to refrigerate them to get them to completely harden after dipping in chocolate. Ended up being a huge hit for Christmas last year and they are on my list to make this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I use to make these for family around christmas time but lost my recipe. This was just like mine and was easy to make. i always colored my filling green and instead of dipping the mints into chocolate would drizzle chocolate over them. That was just easier for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
We loved these! I made them exactly as the recipe and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I'm not a huge PP fan, but my wife is so i figured i would make these for her for a surprise. Well lets say I love peppermint patties now!! Everyone loved them, i almost had to beat the kids off with a wooden spoon to keep them from swipping all the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by will

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Wonderful recipe. Try the suggestion of using damp hands to roll the balls but, not too damp. Big help! Also, instead of air dry the flaten discs were placed in the freezer about 20 minutes. I only took a few out at a time to dip in chocolate. As another person suggested let the chocolate cool a few minutes before dipping. This worked perfectly. You can use a tad bit more of shorting to loosen the mix if necessary. Hershey Special Dark Chips were used. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I love this Recipe!! For added fun last Christmas I devided the recipe and used food coloring to make half of them red and half green, then only dipped them in the chocolate half way- festive and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahNicole131

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States