Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
These are just like York peppermint patties. I went ahead and used the entire 14.5 oz. can of condensed milk and just added a half t. of extra extract and extra sugar slowly until it seemed the right consistency. I might have added too much because the "dough" was a little dry and difficult to roll into balls. I used the bottom of a glass to flatten. Some of them cracked around the edges when flattened, making them not smooth circles, again, maybe because I used too much sugar. I made a double boiler to melt the chocolate and used some parafin to thin it out instead of shortening. I used a fork to dip and scraped the bottom of the fork against the bowl as I took it out. This kept them neat. I used another reviewer's suggestion of pushing the bottom of the fork lightly atop each patty after dipping to create the York "grooves" on the top. This made about 80 patties. Using the parafin I had extra chocolate leftover which I put in a jar in the fridge to use for my next dipping project. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The only reason I gave it four stars was because the mint was very sweet. The second batch I made I cut the powdered sugar back to 3 cups and it was perfect. Otherwise, great recipe, it reminded me of the York peppermint patties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Highland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Wow...just follow the directions. These are DELISH. Great Recipe! Thanks so much for sharing! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
i made these, as another review suggested, in a candy mold. that made the process a lot easier and faster for me. i hate hate hate peppermint, but i love these. mabey the amount of peppermint is not so offensive to my palette. plus a little chocolate makes everything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I used this recipe and added food coloring to make red/green ones that were half dipped in chocolate. I ended up making the patties too big and they cracked when I dipped them in chocolate. However, they were absolutely DELICIOUS! My friends who don't judge the appearance of holiday treats just loved them :) I will have to try again and make them smaller!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
It took forever for the patties to "dry" and you really need to use parchment paper because they stick to the wax paper. They had to dry overnight and then the chocolate mixture was too thick. I thinned it a little bit but they were still falling apart and I have no idea if they will ever set up without having to keep them stored in the freezer. What good is that? I read the "what to drink" suggestions at the side and think you should skip making the candy and just drink the port!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Oh my goodness! I've never made candy before and I am proud to say these came out wonderfully. I used a candy mold, so I made them slightly different. I filled the mold up 1/3 of the way with three different kinds of chocolate to see which one would go best with the filling (dark chocolate was by far the best). I brushed the chocolate up the sides and put in the fridge to harden. I put a small ball of the filling into the truffle and topped with more melted chocolate. I left out the shortening (personal preference). These were amazing and I will definitely use these as additional Xmas gifts later this month!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Fantabulous!!!!! These are soooooooooooooooooo Yummy! Very rich yet I can't get enough. Thank you for the recipe! I'll definitely be using this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
made these for Christmas presents. They can out wonderful and easy. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Everyone raved about these and begged me for this recipe. It is my absolute favourite! I put more peppermint than called for, as I like mine SUPER minty. Also, I am lazy and I just roll them into balls - small ones. I find they are easier to dip in chocolate that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States