Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I just finished a batch of the filling right now and tasted it. The peppermint flavor is not as strong as I would like it to be. (I used McCormick pure peppermint extract). I could also still taste the sweetened condensed milk which isn't a flavor that I'd like in this candy. Next time around, I would increase the peppermint extract to 2 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
So easy to make but kind of time consuming as far as dipping the chocolate...they were fun to put in little candy gift bags for Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These peppermint patties are amazing! The dough wouldn't set on its own, so I froze the patties for a few minutes prior to dipping. No problems afterwards with the patties crumbling in the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
These are great. Easy and taste just like the boughten ones. Everyone loves them. Can anyone tell me how they stored these patties. I want to make some ahead of time for Christmas and I wasn't sure if they need to be put in the fridge or just stored in a container. If you can help with this please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsGossman
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I changed it a little and It made it SOOO easy and much cleaner! I simply put a little chocolate on the bottom of a cupcake liner and then put in the peppermint patty (after I froze them for 5min) then added a little more chocolate. Froze again for 5mins. They came right out of the liners and all had pretty designs! I used the renolds foil cupcake liners, they seemed to work better than regular cupcake liners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I just made this today and it was delicious! I failed miserably with the chocolate because I've never done this kind of thing before. I ended up somehow making it chunky and the patties melted as I was trying to dip them. So I just gave up and spread the chocolate on top of the patties and just let it set that way. Still turned out yummy, just not pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessMariePinup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandywine, Maryland, USA
Living In: Romney, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Just made these for Fathers Day and they were great! We live in England so we can't get peppermint patties and these were an admirable substitute. A few changes...I melted a broken up bar of dark chocolate in the microwave with a few teaspoons of butter to get a good consistence for dipping. Also, after making the patties, I let them rest if the refrigerator for a few hours before dipping them in the chocolate with a fork. Had no problems with them falling apart. Also, used peppermint oil instead of extract because I felt that the extract did not provide enough of a strong peppermint flavor. Only use a few drop of the oil, however, as it is very strong. Overall, everyone was very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I made these for a Christmas party one year, and while I had doubled the batch, I left with an empty plate. They are not for the inexperienced, but I had a good time making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This was harder than it looked. I finally gave up after doing half of the batch and made rocky road out of the rest of it. That turned out great! The patties tasted good but I couldn't get them to dip without melting. I froze them for an hour before I tried. Any suggestions? Or is it just practice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
VERY GOOD! Tastes just like a York Peppermint Patty! I only used 2 3/4 cups of confectioner's sugar because it started to get too dry and crumbly. I used a cookie scoop to form the balls so they would all be the same size. Be careful not to press them too thin as it would take more chocolate to cover and taste too chocolaty. I froze them prior to covering with chocolate. Placed in a tin and put in the refrigerator, they are going to be a welcome treat. Thank you PATTY STOCKTON for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States