Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very sweet if make again make very small
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I read all of the reviews and I agree that brushing on the chocolate is much easier than attempting to dip them! They were awesome though and well worth the effort. Everyone raved about them and they have quickly become a Christmas tradition for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soccerlynn
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I used this recipe for a gluten-free cookie exchange. People loved them!! I followed the recipe as is and they came out great. I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I have made several batches of this recipe over the last few years, they are delicious. Due to these being somewhat time consuming, when I do my Christmas baking, I usually make these first. For some reason, this year I didn't. Boy, am I glad I didn't. I made the Peppermint Bark yesterday and when I chopped/ground up my candy canes in my food processor, I saved the very fine/powdery part of the candy canes and melted them in my chocolates for my bark. Well, I still had a little bit of that powder left over and decided to sprinkle some of it on top of a few of my peppermint patties...HEAVEN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Merrels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Fantastic and easy to use recipe. They are beyond yummy. Tips: Coat hands in icing sugar, roll into balls,pat into patties, place on cookie sheet with wax paper sprinkled with icing sugar. Freeze for 15-20min Tips: For chocolate I use 2 cups choc chips, 1/3 cup grated parrafin wax. Heat in double boiler. Dip patties into melted choc using a teaspoon and place back on pan and back into freezer for another 20 minutes or so. Place into container of your choice with wax paper inbetween each layer for easy removal....and easy it will be when your family finds where they are!!!! Thanks for the Great Recipe!! Kim C
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
5 Star recipe! Very, very good. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Sue
Living In: Lebanon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Amazing! People I give these patties to, often come back willing to PAY for more! I use real organic peppermint oil (about $7 for 2 oz--not extract) and it turns out much better. I use about 4 & 1/2 tsp of oil. The mint oil I use is diluted with sunflower oil so if you try my suggestion, make sure you don't use too much! (incase your oil is more pure than mine) For mixing in the oil, I find it works well to mix 1 cup of powdered sugar with the condensed milk, then thoroughly mix-in the oil, and then mix in the rest of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I have made these twice and they are always a hit. This time, I forgot that the recipe included condensed milk, so I found a substitute: http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,183,151170-244199,00.html (make the full substitute amount, but start with the 3/4 cup as the peppermint patties call for and add additional as needed for consistency). Note also that the substitute is a darker color than condensed milk, so the filling won't be bright white. I like the taste better with condensed milk, but this is still good. For the chocolate, the first time I used store-bought prefab dipping/candy chocolate, which was fine. This time, I used a full bag of Ghirardelli’s bittersweet chocolate chips which tastes really good and doesn't have all the extra stuff in it. If time allowed, I might consider double dipping the chocolate to get a thicker shell. Finally, I immersed the creams in the chocolate and then set them on a wire rack over the chocolate bowl to let the excess drip off for a few seconds (10-15 seconds) before moving them to a sheet of parchment paper to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I wish I could give this 10 stars! These are INCREDIBLE!!! They take a little time to make, but they aren't difficult to work with. I followed the recipe exactly, although I gave up measuring the sugar...I just slowly added more until it got to the consistency I wanted. Other than that, I followed it as written, and am completely in love with this candy! I highly recommend these :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I truly am not sure what I am doing wrong here. I used peppermint extract and followed the recipe exactly. I found that the consistency was very watered down and thin. I thought hmmm, let me just put in more powdered sugar to make it thicker. I ended up putting another 2 cups in. Still feeling something wasn't right I still went with it. Taking the advice of others I placed in the freezer hoping that it would firm up. It did a little but was still soft to where you could put your finger impression in it. After looking at the bottle of extract I saw it had over 80% alcohol in it so it wasn't going to set up in the freezer. I did like the way it smelled up my house . Maybe with peppermint oil this time. Hmmm very dissapointed. Didn't even get to use my chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ret_Vets

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States