Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Better than York! I also recommend freezing on a sheet pan and coating one side at a time in chocolate with pastry brush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Wonderful recipe! We made these for the Holidays and they went quickly. Everyone raved about them and couldn't believe I'd made them myself! I added a bit extra peppermint extract and took the advice of others and froze the patties first before dipping. (Also, it really does help make the dipping easier if you make smaller patties.) I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHEEBEANS
Home Town: Grafton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I've tried, and failed, at this recipe 3 times. Problem #1 - I tried freezing the patties as others suggested, but the condensation from the frozen patties made the chocolate seize up. Problem #2 - The chocolate was way too thick for dipping. Problem #3 - When I tried just letting them dry out, they fell apart when I dipped them in the chocolate. The chocolate got all lumpy and gross. I don't understand what I'm doing wrong! Help! I want to love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very sweet if make again make very small
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I read all of the reviews and I agree that brushing on the chocolate is much easier than attempting to dip them! They were awesome though and well worth the effort. Everyone raved about them and they have quickly become a Christmas tradition for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soccerlynn
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I used this recipe for a gluten-free cookie exchange. People loved them!! I followed the recipe as is and they came out great. I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I have made several batches of this recipe over the last few years, they are delicious. Due to these being somewhat time consuming, when I do my Christmas baking, I usually make these first. For some reason, this year I didn't. Boy, am I glad I didn't. I made the Peppermint Bark yesterday and when I chopped/ground up my candy canes in my food processor, I saved the very fine/powdery part of the candy canes and melted them in my chocolates for my bark. Well, I still had a little bit of that powder left over and decided to sprinkle some of it on top of a few of my peppermint patties...HEAVEN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Merrels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Fantastic and easy to use recipe. They are beyond yummy. Tips: Coat hands in icing sugar, roll into balls,pat into patties, place on cookie sheet with wax paper sprinkled with icing sugar. Freeze for 15-20min Tips: For chocolate I use 2 cups choc chips, 1/3 cup grated parrafin wax. Heat in double boiler. Dip patties into melted choc using a teaspoon and place back on pan and back into freezer for another 20 minutes or so. Place into container of your choice with wax paper inbetween each layer for easy removal....and easy it will be when your family finds where they are!!!! Thanks for the Great Recipe!! Kim C
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
5 Star recipe! Very, very good. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Sue
Living In: Lebanon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Amazing! People I give these patties to, often come back willing to PAY for more! I use real organic peppermint oil (about $7 for 2 oz--not extract) and it turns out much better. I use about 4 & 1/2 tsp of oil. The mint oil I use is diluted with sunflower oil so if you try my suggestion, make sure you don't use too much! (incase your oil is more pure than mine) For mixing in the oil, I find it works well to mix 1 cup of powdered sugar with the condensed milk, then thoroughly mix-in the oil, and then mix in the rest of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States