Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Your recipe is the greatest.... i have never tasted anything like this....It's better then the ones that you buy in the store...Thank you so much for sharing you recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
good my mom made this one year very very good can`t wait for this againe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Bloomingdale, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Very easy to make...looked super on my Christmas tray. I used an electric mixer to mix the ingredients and it worked wonderfully. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Very good!!! They were the talk at my husband's office!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
The patties themselves (w/out chocolate) were excellent! May I suggest to make smaller, rather than larger patties. If they are large they won't dry enough on the outside and will break when you hold them for more than a few seconds. My reccomendation : Instead of dipping these (they melt in the pot), freeze them, and then brush the melted chocolate onto them with a basting or pastry brush. Then, flip and repeat when dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These turned out great. It was cold out when I made them, in the low 20's so I stuck them outside to dry and chill a little before dipping them. This worked oput great because it gave them some extra stiffness when dipping them in the chocolate. I had a hard time getting the chocolate chips to melt so I melted wafer chocolates in a double boiler instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
After experimenting with this recipe a few times, and reading the tips from other reviewers, I think I have it down. Here is what I have come up with to make the recipe easier to work with. For starters, I mix everything in my kitchen aid mixer. I find that I need 1/2 cup less sugar then the recipe calls for to get the perfect consistancy. When the "dough" is combined well I roll it out on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and put it in the freezer for about 1/2 hour. (NOTE: If you are going to do patties it is actually easier to leave them at room temperature to harden up because the frozen dough reacts too quickly with the hot melted chocolate and breaks down very easily. The room temperature dough does not react as quickly and therefore does not break down very fast.) Another problem I ran into was getting the chocolate mixture to be the correct consistancy. I found it was easier to work with if it is more liquid like - done by adding a very small amount of milk or cream. Once the chocolate is the correct consistancy I brushed it onto the rolled peppermint mixture and returned it to the freezer. I then applied a second coat after the chocolate had set and again returned it to the freezer. Flip it over and repeat. Once the whole thing is set it is very easy to cut it into squares or even to use a round cookie cutter to make circular shapes. The candy is to die for and worth all the work involved in its creation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Everone loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
If you plan on making these, set aside the better part of your day, because they are a project. But it's worth it! I dyed my dough green, which looked cute. Keeping them frozen is a necessity; I took them out from the freezer one at a time as I was dipping them and didn't run into any problems. Oh, and if you're ill-prepared like me and run out of wax paper in the middle, switch one of your cereals into a zippered bag and use the bag that they come in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
JUST like York patties. Great texture. I added extra peppermint extract...almost a whole teaspoon more. Gave it the perfect strength. Also had a TOUCH of almond extract in it...people like that. Tip: make the patties really small like only an inch when flattened. Better in smaller doses. Also, add paraffin to chocolate for sheen. Freeze after. Best served "frozen" The peppermint mixture WILL NOT FREEZE. So don't bother trying to get it to for easier dipping. Use a slotten spatula for dipping. LOVE THEM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Santa Paula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States