Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 for appearance not taste. The taste was great, although I will use 3.5 instead of 4 cups of conf. sugar next time for an even creamier middle. I had no probelms with the middle falling apart. I just put them in the freezer for about an hour, and they held together perfect. The chocolate didn't look as nice as I wanted it too after dipping - it did not have a smooth finish to it. Not a big deal, really, but when given as gifts you want them to look perfect. I will surely make these again with noted changes! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth O'Connor VanScoter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I made these patties as a last minute addition to my holiday treats and boy am I glad I did. They are heavenly and really easy to make. In addition to the peppermint extract,I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract and I only needed 3 cups of powdered sugar. In my opinion,these taste a whole lot better than the national brand we all know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I will make a couple of changes the next time I make these. First, use less icing sugar (maybe 3 1/2 cups - I needed to add more condensed milk). I also needed more chocolate, maybe 4 cups. Second, use parchment paper instead of waxed paper - it doesn't stick. It was easier to get them off the paper when they were cold, so I put them in the freezer for about 1/2 an hour. Wait for the chocolate to be almost cooled - it needs to be runny still. Instead of a fork, I used small tongs (the ones that are like a triangle), and drop the pattties into the chocolate, flip them over them take them out. Very good recipe - will make again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Delicious!! They tasted just like peppermint patties. The texture was softer though, which made them silkier, but they melted very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Svera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
My five year old son and I made these yesterday. After reading the reviews, I really was skeptical about how they would turn out. We followed the recipe exactly, but put the patties into the freezer as some reviews had said. We also made one-inch patties with a cutter after rolling out the dough. So easy, not messy and it only took us an hour! Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Awesome! Every one at work loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I love this recipe and can't wait for another opportunity to make it again! (I personally think that they taste better than the store bought kind!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Spectacular!! Beautiful and elegant, tasted just like the real thing, right down to the texture of the mint filling. The only difference is that you can pile on as much chocolate as you like. They take a while to cool and don't let the patties dry out too long or they'll get hard. I didn't have any semi-sweet chocolate, so instead, I melted a bag of bittersweet (60% cacao) and 2 oz. unsweetened bakers chocolate and 2 tbsp white sugar. It worked out well but next time I might try mixing in a little milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine jellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
These are delicious! First of all- when I make these again (and I say when, because I will!) I'm going to experiment with the s.c. milk to confectioner sugar ratio. Based on how mine turned out (I followed the recipe exactly) I think you could use considerably less s.c. milk, but it's just a theory. Also, rather than heating the chocolate in a pan I used a bain marie (double boiler) which made life so much easier- I didn't have to worry about the chocolate getting funky, burnt, or any of the other things that could happen- plus I was able to have nicely melted chocolate for the entire time it took me to coat the patties. I think tweaking the 'dough' will make a big difference in how these set up. As the recipe calls for, my patties were falling apart and melting before I could do anything. I had to keep them in the freezer at all times, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing- I think I may prefer them frozen. (Seriously, they are so good frozen!) I bought a little circle fondant cutter so they were the size of the mini York patties and rolled the dough out flat before cutting. The size was perfect because where my dough was a bit thick, the taste was off (too much creamy center for how much chocolate it took to coat them)- so don't make them too huge unless you can get them really flat for multiple bites. All in all- deeelish! It was very time consuming (for me) and messy but definitely worth the effort. Practice makes perfect so I'll keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I could not believe how much these tasted like the real thing! I melted my chocolate in a fondue pot and this made for easy coating! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States